Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old and fancy

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Nice hotel very old but good maintenance. Very good Breakfast. And local
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from devon

Very close to st marks. Staff very helpful

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Super trip. Lovely convenient hotel. Would go again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

We were sent to a different building

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The mini fridge was a great unexpected perk. Location is great, you can go to the San Marco or the Rioalto water bus station. Breakfast was good
Cons: I felt blindsided by a room that look nothing like the one I thought I was booking.
Location: Beside San Marco bassilica, plaza, Doge's palace and correr museum
The hotel and room were okay, that being said, we didnt get what we paid for. We were sent to a different hotel, part of the same chain. After this happened I checked my expedia booking and noticed the fine print it said "annexed building". That being said the room was a far cry from the pictures posted in expedia. The location was great, super close to the San Marco Basilica, which was great, you had everything at a 5 minute walk. The hotel was very hard to find, some instructions on the website would have been worth it. If you are planning to stay here, go to the San Marco plaza and if you are facing the bassilica, half way on the left side look for Soto Portego dei Dai road, it's between a restaurant and Bravin - an ice cream store (that sold lots of other trinkets and alcohol). The main hotel is on the left side before the bridge. That being said, that's most likely not the building you'll be staying at. Venice was beautiful and I recommend November for a trip, it wasnt that cold, we still had most of our meals at outdoor restaurants and the crowds are not as bad. Also, the water doesnt smell as bad as it does in the summer time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Our room was surprisingly large and spacious! Location is perfect, literally 20 steps from St Marks Square! Breakfast was ok, but avoid the omelette things! All in all a very comfortable stay though and friendly staff. Would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

A Travel Agents Review

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Lovely Staff, close to St Marks square, comfortable rooms, wifi included
This Hotel is in an excellent location, so close to St Marks square down a quiet lane way, the staff are all very friendly & helpful .. the rooms are a good size & beds are comfortable - I would definitely stay here again & will be recommending this hotel to my travellers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham uk

Everywhere walkable

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The room was very compact. 1 off party was sight impaired- difficulty in moving around. However we were surprised how easy we found walking in Venice. Watch out for strangers waving flags - there's usually a crowd behind them. We never did find the footy ground.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Toilets very difficult to flush
Location: Good shopping. San Marcos square nearby
Great location. Excellent staff. Good breakfast. Difficult toilets
4 out of 5
by lisa

A nice little hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Terrific concierges at the desk. Close to the Square so a little noisy into the night. But happy people sound. The view from the bridge out the door was amazing. Clean enough. The room was over air conditioned especially at night but it was so hot outside we didn't complain. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included and very nice and tasty. The price was excellent for the area. We were close to everything. The door on the shower stall did come off the track every time we used it and the water had to run for 15 minutes before it was tolerably warm. No bad smells. We would go back. A funny thing happened. I opened the window for air and an unclothed man was at his window right across the narrow street. We exchanged an ordinary nod and he went back in his room. I closed the drapes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Lovely Hol

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room and reception informative.
Location: By St Marks Square, Shops, lovely restaurants, water taxis. The trip to the Islands were great 40e for two of us well worth the money and full day!
Wonderful place. Hotel great location right at St Marks Square. We could walk everywhere. The restaurants were a little pricey in the centre but walk away from there and you can find a real little gem which is a lot cheaper and still have the atmosphere. The hotel was clean, friendly and very informative. Easy to get around on foot or with a pass which for 20e for 48hr was a bargain and you can hop on and off of the water taxis. Lots to see, lots to eat and lots to drink.........lovely!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Hotel is clean and friendly

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: AC
Location: Your as close as you can get to san marco square so you can really enjoy the late nights in the square. Your close to the taxis
Hotel is in a good location and easy to check in and out of. Good restaurant and close to taxis. The AC was broken for the first couple of nights in the room and we were the top floor so it was extremely hot. Room is very small and hard to get around if you are over 6ft.