Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Hotel is clean and friendly

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: AC
Location: Your as close as you can get to san marco square so you can really enjoy the late nights in the square. Your close to the taxis
Hotel is in a good location and easy to check in and out of. Good restaurant and close to taxis. The AC was broken for the first couple of nights in the room and we were the top floor so it was extremely hot. Room is very small and hard to get around if you are over 6ft.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Our break in venice

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The Staff and Service.
Cons: Initial directions, it is also known as the Albergo San Marco, we found it using a smart phone and google maps.
Location: Prime location for San Marco bassillica and tower, with a major Boat/bus link and few minutes walk to the Rialto bridge area.
After an initial concern about the room which was quickly sorted by expedia and the Irene a the hotel, (very impressed, we lodge a disastisfaction on the expedia feedback about our room and the next morning we didn't have to ask to have it remedied, it was picked up by reception as we went out). We had a lovelly time in all. It was a little difficult to find initially, but that is more in the nature of Venice,. However once found the correct archway (the middle one on the far side of St Marks the square) it is 50 yards away, and central for the major Venice sights, eg St Marks Square and the Rialto bridge. There was plenty of choice for the buffet breakfast. It also allowed us to catch the attractions early before the queus got established, and gave us an air conditioned refuge in the mid day heat. If returning to Venice it is very likely we will go back to that hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Excellent location. Local charm

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Nice hotel. Great location..looks dated but it's in keeping with the locale. Quite comfortable but a bit noises depending on your room as a well used tourist route runs past the hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

excellent location close to San Marco square

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: location
Location: very close to San Marco Square
Had to get a change of room due to substantial issue with original one; replacement was very good and no further issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Small but comfortable, location great, breakfast very good. Would stay there again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smells Bad & Very Noisy

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. Terrible smells of sewer throughout the hotel as well as in our room. At 7am each morning we were rudely awoken to workers pumping sewage from the hotel into a canal boat. It was very noisy and smelled badly. Oddly, the hotel would keep their front doors open while this was happening- why would anyone want to smell that. Our room was located along the street side of the hotel - you could hear people partying every night in the street until 2am. Another issue was out keys wouldn't work from time to time and the door jam was broken going into our room. Breakfast was tolerable but not great. So disappointing to pay a high 5-star price for a 1-star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly helpful staff
Cons: Hotel needs updating, painting etc
Location: Central with easy access to the sights of Venice
Easy to get to the sights. Hotel is a bit 'tired' and needs updating. The staff are brilliant.
3 out of 5
by Tiago

Could have been a great stay but...

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location but disappointing stay. Didn't have warm water on the first day (had to take a cold shower), despite asking twice for help. No acknowledgment from the staff, except that I should wake up earlier because at 08:00 there are a lot of people showering...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Its location is outstanding. It is just next to Piazza Marco Polo and I was able to go back to my room for any purposes during my stay. It is not a luxury hotel, but comfortable enough with friendly staff who respond your enquiry promptly both online and at site.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

good position, street outside very noisy.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Nice bathroom perfectly cleaned by unobtrusive staff. Good location to access sights.
Cons: Dining room layout: to prevent hold-ups while people queued for different things in the same place. Breakfast in the 'bar overflow area smelt of smoke
Location: Excellent location to access St Marks Sq, Lagoon and Rialto areas, with good atmosphere and much to see on route.
Staff were pleasant and mostly helpful. The room was comfortable, though not the pillows! The air con. was inefficient and the street below noisy, unconducive to restful sleep. The housekeeping staff were excellent, clean sheets and towels and rooms beautifully cleaned daily. Breakfast was unremarkable and the layout created hold-ups, though the staff were quick to replenish supplies.