Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to the water taxi station.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the water bus and the St Mark Piazza.
Location: All mentioned in my above comments.
If you know where you are are going it is very close one of to the main Vaporito station, and to the MAIN St Marco PIAZZA. Reception and cordiality were great. I was there for only one night. It was very clean, and i was able to sleep. I was lucky to have quiet people beside me, otherwise you hear everything going on next to you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quirky little Venice a stones throw from Rialto!

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here at Hotel San Salvador very recently and we were made feel very welcome. We arrived after 8pm and were left in by the night porter who was very friendly and gave us two recommendations for restaurants that wouldn't rob us blind near the Rialto Bridge. The hotel was so easy to get to from the Rialto water bus stop. We were about as centre as you get without having throngs of people at your window. We found the hotel to be the perfect starting point to tour the city and could easily get from any side of the city without hassle and never had a problem finding it again. It is down an alleyway that is so well signposted. The room itself was very old fashioned Venetian but it was spotlessly clean. There was a wardrobe, a safe, a fridge mini bar. There were lots of places to charge phones. The bed was just like every other European city that has character. They're not large but this was not a problem. The washroom had a shower that always had hot water, a sink and a hair dryer! I have very long hair and it took me exactly 10minutes to dry it. It probably wouldn't suit everyone because it is one of those weird hose type ones so bring your own if you don't want the hassle! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It's quirky and well maintained. The staff were wonderful. The two ladies who happened to be sisters at the reception were so helpful and friendly, offering great advice and always with smile as was the other nighttime porter. Would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Centrally Located

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Centrally located and steps from Rialto Bridge and the Grand Canal.
Cons: The bathroom was small and the room was a bit dark but neither of these would stop me from staying here again.
Location: The hotel is just off Campo Bortolomo down the alley next to the Disney store. The Rialto Bridge and vaporetto stops are close by and handy.
The check in/check out was quick and easy. Ambra and Stefania (hi ladies!) were helpful and ready to answer any questions before and during my visit. They accepted a package for delivery and made arrangements for the package collection after I departed. Overall, their hospitality allowed me to focus on my holiday with no worries.
4 out of 5
by Michele

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Perfect location in a remarkable city

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Great Staff and location
Cons: Nothing considering where you are
Location: Right in the middle of everything
Couldn't be a better place to be in Venice. The staff were just amazing with helping us enjoy this unique place. If you are still able to clime up and down steps then go to Venice before its to late. The staff at the San Salvador helped us in so many ways to enjoy Venice and avoid the tourist masses that I can't thank them enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF CA

Great location

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Not the Ritz but has everything you need for a good night sleep. Small room but comfortable. Wonderful staff, great smiles and terrific suggestions. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Krystal

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I were there for 3 nights as part of our tour of Italy, once we found the hotel our stay was lovely. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was a decent size, shower a little small for my husband but it worked. Great location, very close to Rialto Bridge and St.Mark's Square!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
The room is nothing special but certainly fulfills any travelers needs.The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of all the major attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The friendliest staff ever! Everyone we encountered at the desk was super friendly and helpful. You do have to leave the keys with them when you leave but there is someone at the desk 24/7 to let you in. The room was really spacious. One thing though was the pillows are very flat..it gave me a stiff neck for the next three days..if they could upgrade the pillows then I would definitely stay here again. The hotel is super close to the Rialto bridge which makes it very convenient. It's also a 3min walk to Suso which is the best gelato place in venice! Definitely stop there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We stayed two nights at this hotel and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is well located, and not as hard to find as some reviews say. Just turn down the Alley by the Disney store close to the Rialto bridge. The only drawback, was a lot of thumping and noise, along with thin pillows. The noise could have been from the street, or other guests - we could not figure it out. Good earplugs is all you need.