Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2018
They move to Dania Hote because was closed for maintenance but the hotel was really nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Nice hotel.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Very quiet area in San Marco. Room was located behind the main building. Clean and quiet. Breakfast was good and never had a problem. We enjoyed our stay in Venice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas ,Tx.

Nice hotel,find the breakfast super plain .

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Have a hard time finding the hotel ,super noise but nice and clean to rest and get cleaned,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A good 3* two minutes from St Mark's Square

Posted Nov 11, 2017
We chose San Zulian because breakfast was included at a reasonable price and it was close to the Square. We had also read in the reviews that it was family run, although it turned out it has left family ownership and is now one of four hotels and two restaurants, all close by. Anyway, we had a ground floor, courtyard room with spacious en suite shower/toilet and comfortable bed. Their Winter has just started and the A.C. had been switched to warm, so we turned it off, borrowed a plug in mosquito repellant from reception and slept with the window open. Thankfully, we took our travel kettle, powdered milk and tea bags and had fewer 5 € cups outside. Daniel and Nasir were the two concierge/receptionists that we got to know and both were charming - Daniel is football mad - while the lady who kept us supplied with breakfast and who also shares the cleaning of our rooms always responded in a friendly manner to our own greeting. All in all, we were delighted with our choice and will stay there again, ideally in the same room (89) as it was closest to Reception but quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seaham,England

Lovely hotel really central.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
I would definitely recommend this hotel it’s location is ideal to be within easy reach of everything only about 5 minutes walk from St. Marks square the staff are welcoming and friendly and the rooms are really nice .
4 out of 5
by David

Good hotel for the price

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in a good location, between San Marco and the Rialto. It takes about 45-50 minutes to get there on foot from the train station. You could take a vaporetto to the Rialto and save some walking. My reception was curt but efficient. The room was in an alternative site not far from the hotel, overlooking a narrow and quiet alley. Not much of a view but okay for the price I paid. The room itself was clean, the bed was fairly comfortable, and the bathroom functioned fine. However, it was a bit dark with the lack of sun and not too much light. For electrical outlets, best to bring adapters for Mediterranean countries (narrower prongs) since my northern European adapters were too think to work in all but one outlet. Included breakfast was fairly substantial with a nice hostess. The wi-fi worked quite well.
4 out of 5
by erik

San Zulian

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
Good area to get around nice safe the room we were in was difficult to get to everytime when coming back to your room you had to go up an elevator down a flight of stairs then up a flight of stairs.not recommended for older people. The staff was nice. The rooms were also cold. Also a safe in the room for valuables was not bolted to anything
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, not bad. The hotel is very small and we had to take multiple stairs and elevators to get to our room. The booking was for Hotel San Zulian, but they put us at a partner hotel which was still ok. But, we would have preferred to know about the change of location before rather than when we arrived there ready to check in. The breakfast was very good with fresh, cold and hot options. The front desk is not very helpful with questions regarding local restaurants and information. Would still recommend staying there due to location and good breakfast (right behind San Mark's square)!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Close to St Marco

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Position. Peaceful.
Cons: Paint the room.
Location: 2 minute walk to St Marco square.
We stayed in room 305. If you are over 5 foot 8 you would not be able to stand up in the bathroom. The plug in the sink had not worked for a long time and even after reporting it notheing was done. Our room needed a coat of paint. At busy times the breakfast room is to small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent Location

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Enjoyed our week in Venice and our stay at the San Zulian. Couldn't have wished for a better location. The room we had was smashing and the staff were lovely. On the downside a pity we didn't have the facility to make the odd cup of tea or coffee and although breakfast was fine, perhaps a little more variety like say....... eggs and bacon and toast would have been a welcome change.