Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Great Location and Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Loved our short stay at Hotel Violino D' Oro. The walk to San Marco Basillica and Square takes less than 5 minutes and it's through the high fashion area(Hermes, Gucci, etc) where you won't be constantly hounded by cafes and street vendors. The Rialto Bridge and Acceddemia is just a few minutes further but signs point you in the right direction the whole way. Even after a night with drink you will be able to find your way back to the hotel very easily by following the Pir S Marco signs. Great hotel. KG Approved!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Excellent location. Close to shops and San Marco square. I reserved my room based on reviews I had read from other travelers and was not disappointed! Would definitely stay here again. Right next to gondola and water taxi stop made it easy to get to train station for departure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from High Point, NC

Wonderful Hotel - in the heart of Venice!!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This was a great hotel and was within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and St. Mark's Basilica. Very nice clean hotel with friendly accommodating staff. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Convienent to everything! Gondola station right outside, San Marco/ferry a few minutes away, shopping right there! A great hotel! Only complaints were the AC was too much (yes you read that right) and there is no safe in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant Place to stay

Posted Jun 3, 2017
An incredible place to stay. Really handy when you arrive. Staff were superb. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great. Lovely room. Air conditioning was ideal on those hot Venetian days.
4 out of 5
by Mark

convenient, clean and comfy

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great location to the 'posh' shops such as Prada, Gucci etc, and very close to St Marks sq. Room was clean, just a little small, but as a place to sleep its perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, Georgia

Best location I could have hoped for!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: 1. Location! 2. Breakfast 3. Customer service
Cons: Perhaps the room could have been a bit more luxurious.
Location: Perfect location next to a canal with gondoliers. Very close to the main square, major attractions and water taxis. On THE street for upscale shopping
I chose this hotel because I thought it would be in a convenient location. Well, this certainly was the case! Not only is it very near the main square, it is also very near water taxi stands. I loved that a canal ran right beside the hotel, and I could look out of the window and see the gondoliers. Another plus is this hotel is on the street with the upscale shops! They were also good about holding my bags until time for me to depart. It was nice being able to go back to drop off additional bags from shopping and to use the restroom. The room was basic, but not bad. I would stay here again for the convenience, the good customer service, and the full breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located budget hotel with terrible breakfast

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location with close proximity to everything. As hotel is right next to the gondola service, it can work in both ways. It's nice watching it go by but it is extremely loud and noisy if you're trying to get some rest in the afternoon. Breakfast was bad- hot food was cold (even though I was taking it straight after the lady replenished it), bread was hard.
5 out of 5
by Caroline

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
This was the second time I've stayed at this lovely, small hotel and I will choose it again. The location is perfect, next to a bridge and near San Marco. The staff is very accommodating and the room was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Close to St Marks Square & Canals

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Hotel was clean and beautifully kept. Staff was very friendly. We were unable to use the AC because they shut the entire system down for the off season (and didn't tell us). We were able to open the windows though.