Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Suites Torre dell Orologio in Venice Italy

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Few minutes walk from the famed San Marcos Plaza where it's all happening. Nearby cafes, restaurants, shops. Included breakfast was ample and delish
Cons: A smile on reception staff's faces would be nice. But they were efficient.
This is a great place to stay right in San Marcos Plaza in Venice. The suite was large and spacious, more like an apartment!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Just apartment not hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We where very disappointed This was 4 visits to Venice This is was just apparent hotel reception breakfast was in different place Bed in master bedroom was to small We couldn't fit with my husband he was too tall I sleet with my 5 year old in sofa bed in living room Worst sleep ever 2 teenagers in another room Pillows and sheets where uncomfortable If somebody stayed in Premier in hotel considered that luxurious!!!! We went to breakfast and by 9 and they couldn't cope Tables no set leftovers on every table Was shocking I went and ask for spoons for kids ceareals breakfast Waiter went to kitchen got me spoon and shouted Just one spoon!!!!! Sorry I have 3 kids ?!?so unprofessional I went to speak about this to manager and he didn't want to hear about it!!! Run away and say it's in progress Next day we skip breakfast there!!! I was glad we stayed just 2 nights pre cruise holiday Positions fantastic but nobody tell you about bell towers!! They start 6 in morning and don't stop till midnight You hear tham soo laude My son was keeping wake from 21:00 till midnight every hour He tought was morning We feal like Hunchback from Noterdam !!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Another great stay!!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We had another great stay at the Suites torre dell'orologio. You really can't beat the space and the location, right off st Mark's square. We stayed there 2 years ago and everything worked out well so it was the logical choice for a quick 4 day stay before boarding our cruise to Greek islands this year. We are a family of 5 traveling with 3 teenagers and the executive suite provided more than enough space for everyone. The front desk stay is terrific and there's even a nice breakfast included every morning at the hotel where you check in. We will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the pillow could be better. too hard and flat

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: great location
Cons: coverings on coaches are old - need replacing
Location: the best location
Some confussion about my twin bed booking, in the end all ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

Good Location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Hotel is located very close to St. Mark's Square and the Grand Canal. Walking to shops and restaurants is quite quick. The hotel itself is okay. The address of the hotel is incorrect on Expedia. Definitely call or email ahead and get the correct address to avoid tremendous confusion. Hotel staff were hit or miss. Some are very friendly and welcoming, others are not unfortunately. The breakfast is very good and filling. It was probably the best part of the hotel. Rooms are very old and bedding/furniture is very outdated and uncomfortable. We did receive the upgrade we paid for, a view of the canal. If we visit Venice again, I think we'll try out another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by res.dep., Hotel Management
Dear Ferrin C, Thank you for finding the time to write your opinion about our Structure and our Services. We are sorry to acknowledge that your stay has't been pleasant as planned, and we would like to apologize if some of our Staff memeber were not friendly to you, as one of our first goals is always to be helpful, friendly and respectful with our Guests. We hope to be your choice also for your next stay in Venice, to let you see our improvements. Thanking you again for sharing your experience, we stay with Best Regards, Royal San Marco and Suites ****
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Utah

Hotel right next to St Mark's Square - Room for 6

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location was great
Cons: Fix the address and directions on the Orbitz site. Turn on the a/c earlier in the year.
Good hotel! DON'T USE THE ORBITS ADDRESS - It leads you to a locked door with a sign telling you where to check in. Check in and breakfast is at the "Hotel Royal San Marco" (San Marco, 848), which is connected to the Suites Directions: In St. Mark's Square - facing the clock tower - with the basilica on your right, go left until you reach the next alleway in the middle of the colonnades on the N side of the square called "Sotoportego dei Dai" This crosses a canal and within 100 yards the Hotel Royal San Marco is on your right hand side where you can check in! Finding a room for 5 travelers in Europe is difficult. In most cases, you need to book 2 rooms. This hotel offers suites with multiple bedrooms, and a living room which can sleep up to 6 people. Our room had: - a pull out couch in the living room that could sleep 2 (double) - a double bed in a separate bedroom - 2 single beds in a separate bedroom - a small (unstocked) kitchenette - with a nice microwave and mini fridge The front desk staff were helpful during the check in, and walked us to our room - which is a bit tricky to wind through and find. The included breakfast was fantastic, with a large selection of hot and cold breakfast items, including eggs, sausage, bacon, yogurt, bread, fruits, juices, and coffee. The beds were firm but comfortable. Note that they don't turn on the air conditioning until May 25, so it was too warm with the windows closed, with mosquitos when open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by res.dep., Hotel Management
Dear Alan, Thank you so much for finding the time to write your opinion about our Structure and our Services. We are so glad and satisfied to acknowledge that your stay has been pleasant as planned and we hope to be your choice also for your next stay in Venice! Thanking you again for sharing your experience, we stay with Best Regards, Royal San Marco and Suites ****
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Difficult to find, but worth it

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Roma are scattered into separate building in the San Marco area so difficult to find the hotel lobby. Once found the issues were over. The rooms were great and it felt like we had our own apartment in Venice. Location off of San Marco square is wonderful. I would highly recommend it and will be back personally.
3 out of 5
by Tania

Great area very poor service

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Room was great, great Location, lots of eating places around, Check in was terrible, rude staff, made fun of me in iltalian Kettle was provided no cups or tea or coffee etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancs. England

Great location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Tea making facilities
Location: Close to st marks square and closer to shops and restaurants. St Marks Doges palace and the Correr museum all in the square.
Having read the reviews I wondered what to expect. I was not disappointed. We had to ask directions forthe check in hotel but there are plenty of people around so not a problem. The room was clean and spacious with a kitchenette. Ours contained a microwave kettle and fridge with minibar but nothing else! I took cups, spoon, tea bags etc. Breakfast was very good. Varied and plentiful. Best of all was the location being close to st marks square and lots of restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venice

No heat No hot water. Little concern or help.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Name on sign and door is "Hotel San Marco" This information may save you an hour because they gave directions three times during our hour + search, but never told us that there the sign on the door is that os San Marco. We had no heat and no hot water. At first the response was that we had to wait for repair. Eventually, we were provided a toom in which we could shower In the confusion, my niece left a bracelet in the room I called 6 hours ago and again an hour ago. Desk clerks unwilling to help because they are "alone". I am told to call tomorrow. I will change vacation plans to arrive in person. Hopefully I will not be required to man the front desk for a clerk who is alone.