Ratings based on 1,137 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cleanish

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Nice manager and staff
Cons: Cleaner bathrooms
Location: Scary part of San Marcos
Musty rooms. Beds were clean, bathtub was not. Got our car keyed at this location - scary clientele.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

College

Posted May 20, 2017
Very good price, clean and very friendly! Very close to the college for convenience-CSUSM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Cal State San Marcos

Posted May 20, 2017
Excellent location to the college for graduation--convenient, clean and friendly!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Marcos

Scary! Run

Posted May 18, 2017
Scariest hotel I've ever visited. Pimps in parking lot waiting for thier girls. Dirty, dark and over all gross.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for a brief stay

Posted May 14, 2017
The hotel itself is decent. Thin walls, you hear everything. Staff was friendly and front desk checks on you to make sure your room is satisfactory.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nitpicking

Posted May 8, 2017
The bed was very lumpy, and the blackout curtains did not work. Staying at a room in the main building, we could always here the cars driving buy, the air conditioner did a good job a drowning them out at night just not in the morning. It was right next to a Mexican food restaurant, the food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, British Columbia

Pleasant but not Luxurious Motel

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The following: 1) Motel and room amenities 2) Daily continental breakfast 3) Area seemed reasonably safe 4) Restaurants and stores nearby
Location: As I noted above, there are restaurants and stores nearby. The area looked reasonably safe. A Sprinter Train Station is not far away.
Our time at the Days Inn in San Marcos was pleasant. The motel looked in reasonably good condition. The room was a bit small but it was adequate for my wife and I. The amenities in the room, including a TV, fridge and coffee maker, were helpful for us. Also, there was a space with a rack for clothing, which was useful for my wife. The air conditioner helped to keep the room at a reasonable temperature. We were satisfied with the room. The continental breakfast was convenient and good. The staff, including the desk staff and the maids, were friendly and helpful, and thus I am giving the motel staff an excellent rating. The location seemed convenient and safe. We walked around the area a number of times after 11:00 p.m. and did not encounter any obvious hostility. There are conveniences nearby the motel, including McDonald's, Starbucks, and other restaurants. Also, there are stores nearby, including the Home Depot, WinCo, and Best Buy. This is not a fancy motel, but it seemed quite adequate for those who do not want or need luxurious accommodation and who do not want to pay expensive rates. My wife and I were fully satisfied with our stay at the Days Inn in San Marcos and thus we would recommend it to a friend or relative.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Noisy motel

Posted May 7, 2017
We were given a queen bed instead of a king bed. Noisy room next to freeway offramp.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very seedy place

Posted May 6, 2017
Stay away. Pot smokers out in the parking lots and the smell of pot inside the hallway. Guy stumbled out of the room across from us and could not even walk. He bounced between the walls walking down the hallway. We left after the first night, should have not even stayed in the first place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

not enjoyable

Posted Apr 28, 2017
I wanted something in-expensive so we can do a full weekend in Lego Land. It wasn't that close to Legoland (about 1/2 hr), it was disappointing, beds were so uncomfortable and AC was so loud, it was really hard to sleep. Breakfast was decent, that is about the only advantage to this hotel. I wouldn't stay there again.