Ratings based on 1,506 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
EVERYTHING WAS CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS ALWAYS HELPFUL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wedding

Posted Mar 27, 2017
food at Decoy was the best Dockside was a great experience and the food was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice escape from the hustle of downtown San Diego

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Definitely off the beaten path, this hotel is definitely the gem of San Marcos. Campy charm, mixed with well appointed comfortable decor. Rooms are simply decorated, and the furniture is comfy. The bed was cozy in that not too soft, not too firm kind of way. I would absolutely stay here again next time I'm in town for work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Sunny and warm when sick of the rain!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are updated with wood look tiles in the bathroom. Very comfortable!
Cons: It was very loud in the room we stayed in. We could hear everyone in the hall and the people up stairs. More sound proofing would be nice.
Location: Lot of amenities. Very close to golf, shopping and salons.
We were travelling from Seattle in March because we were very tired of the rain. We got to the hotel about 1 pm. It says on the confirmation, check-in is at 3 pm but when we got there the staff told us 4 pm check in. We left and had lunch and then came back because we had been up since 4 am. Sat in the lobby for a while and waited. We watched a couple come in and immediately get their room and room room key. I told the front desk clerk we were very tired and we would take any room that was available at that time. It was about 2 pm. The clerk explained the type of room we reserved was not available yet. They gave us an upgraded room at no additional cost!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful resort on Lake San Marcos!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The resort was beautiful, staff was helpful and always happy, great food and views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale Az

Great 'lakehouse' atmosphere.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Loved the hotel, even the shower. Loved the atmosphere. Hotel is close to many restaurants and stores. Reason for our stay was we were goong to Legoland.only complaint was that we were picked up 30 minutes late from our scheduled shuttle pickup at legoland. Pickup was at 6pm. Traffic should be no excuse as it's know that there's always traffic, besides this everything else about the hotel was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Unique hotel experience

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Our stay at Lakehouse was a nice surprise. The website pictures do not do it justice. The surroundings were lovely and the room clean and updated. We enjoyed kayaking on the lake and hanging at the well maintained pool. We loved watching the variety of birds that the lake brings. We ate at the hotel restaurant which was mediocre. Hotel staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Low key, but fun!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
It started with having to reschedule this trip due to bad weather. They did so with no problem. It is a lovely place situated on a lake in which there are no bad rooms. My husband and I had a romantic getaway and never had to leave. The restaurant was low key and fun with delicious food. We realized we forgot toothpaste and when I looked for the number for the front desk it flat out said they would accommodate any request! They brought us toothpaste and creamer!! I can't wait to bring my son back to take advantage of the water fun!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE Hotel.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Staff were very helpful, and aimed to please. We checked into the room and found a pail and plumbing tools in the bathroom. Obviously the room was "out of bounds" until the plumbing was fixed, so we should not have been offered that particular room. Personnel at the front desk upgraded me to a more expensive suite which was appropriate. Later that night we were awoken by a party happening next door. I understand people were celebrating a wedding, but I question the values of some people who do not consider their neighbours. After waking from a dead sleep, and complaining to management, Management offered to let us sleep in a more quiet room, away from the party, which was great. Unfortunately, some of the party animals got under my skin so I was in no mood to sleep anymore. The next day I complained to Sr. Management and we negotiated a 50% refund, which I agreed to. So Management did everything they could to make me happy. I would have given the place a 5 if not the party that kept me up half the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Room service

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Loved the hotel room over all. Room service was not great, the man taking my order was in such a hurry to get off the phone he forgot 1 order (he was not helpful and very short with his answers). I had to call back to put it back in, they brought it up on a 2nd trip to my room.