Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice bar, terrible room- terrible service.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We checked in yesterday, the front desk personnel was very kind and welcoming. The hotel lobby was large and expansive with a very nice patio. But when we went to our room, and it was on the ground floor and one room from the hotel lobby. I travel very often and this is probably one of the worst rooms I have stayed in at a Hilton. I am on a work trip, so I decided not to complain. However this morning when I went to get breakfast(which was supposed to be included with my stay) When I asked where the breakfast was, I was spoken to in such a demeaning way-I was actually offended. The man at the front desk saw that our reservation was booked through Expedia and acted as if I was not worthy of staying with them. After we finished breakfast, we walked out passed the valet and I said good morning to the attendants who did not even acknowledge I was there. I will never stay here again, and am hesitant to even book with a third party service to avoid this treatment at all. Extremely disappointed with this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D West Hills, CA

breakfast

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Stay was alright, breakfast was awful, only redeeming thing was the oatmeal. The scrambled eggs was hard like a cardboard. The place was a mess, nobody was following up on keeping it tidy. The room itself was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: It was convenient, comfortable, and clean. We went to a CSUSM graduation, and this hotel was to the university.
Cons: The furniture was worn out.
Location: Go to CSUSM graduation!
We were in late and out early, so we basically just slept and showered there one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, ill

Old hotel needs renovations!

Posted May 4, 2017
My experience with Fairmont usually has been nothing short of excellence. However, this hotel is very disappointing. The rooms are in much-needed renovations as was the whole hotel. Just make sure that the rate you get is worth it, anything over $200 is not worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charleston, sc

Top rate room at a very reasonable price!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Breakfast included and the nightly snacks and drinks was a nice touch.
I lived in San Marcos for years and watched this hotel being built years ago. This was the first opportunity to stay since we've moved out of the area. I was extremely pleasantly surprised! Every person on staff that we encountered greeted us with a smile. The overall amenities and cleanliness was great and the room was more spacious than anticipated, clean, compfortable and centrally located. Would definitely stay again and would recommed highly!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Not happy to stayed at this hotel, furniture to old and dirty. I rented three rooms and one sofa bed didn't have mattress and my son had to sleep with out of the mattress
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel- easy to find, comfy room

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Everything was great- the room was beautiful and comfortable; breakfast was good, the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The room was very spacious, but there are NO black-out drapes, so no chance of sleeping much past sunrise. It is also located on a fairly busy corner, and the traffic gets quite loud early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and eating area, Kitchenette and sitting area, mixers, friendly staff.
Cons: The Arm chair and ottoman were quite worn.
Location: The location was great with the exception of the noise from the highway. There was shopping near by and an LRT with in a few blocks.
Who ever designed this hotel was thinking. From the great variety of foods for the free breakfast and spacious eating area, to the rooms that are equipped with a kitchenette and sitting area. The weekday mixers (supper or dessert) were a very pleasant surprise and the staff was very friendly. There was an outdoor fire area and it was close to the Grand Plaza which had some great shopping. I will definitely be looking for a Residence Inn the next time I travel, if there was any negative it was that it was so close to highway 78 and it was noisy when you were at the pool but having said that it was very easy to find when you were returning to the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Justin

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
I was kind of disappointed after my first night. I was paying for a suite @750$ for 3 nights. After my first night I woke up and went out for a bit to come back to a room that had a fire sprinkler leaking. I informed the front desk and they had a room for me after about 30min however I wasn't offered any help or assistance moving my stuff...mind you I had a wife and 2 kids and all of our stuff to move to another room. No one bothered to ask.