Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great location, nice view

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Wonderful hotel with great restaurant. Highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding staff and location

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location. Center of historical San Marino. Short walk to main sights. Hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. Room was outstanding. Only issue was A/C was not working well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, but very basic hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of San Marino, but it's star rating is misleading. Had it been two or three star we might not have been disappointed but rooms were small, very basic and old furnishings were not very pleasant. We did ask if there was a better room but were showed another which was exactly the same and told they were all similar. Carpets need replacing and in general the hotel could do with a makeover. Also in the evening the lovely bar and terrace was closed when we hoped to get an aperitif before dinner. To cap it off we were woken by hammering in the kitchen which rattled our rooms. All in all not a comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
by Rob from Cambridge

Europe 2016

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
A great town built around a castle with the hotel one of a few in the middle. Staff very helpful, room tidy clean with plenty of space. The problem for us was we were in 104 and you could hear staff and bottles etc all night. If you are a light sleeper it may affect you but a great place all the same. Good pizza with a view on the hill further up. Rember to park in carpark 5 and walk the short distance to the hotel. Well worth the visit, a must see location.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room with a view.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The staff are friendly, the hotel is perfectly located for walking around the old city. The rooms and public areas are very clean. The rooms are small and the hotel seems to charge for the view, which is amazing if you do manage to get/pay extra for a room above the wall of the adjacent building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central but Not 4 Star!

Posted Jul 3, 2016
While an ideal location in San Marino, there is so much to improve on. TV did not have reliable English language news channel. BBC News kept cutting out every few seconds with message coming up on screen 'BBC World News does not exist. Would you like to remove it? Yes? No'. I could not keep AC on in bedroom as it caused very loud creaky noises. No room safe. No bath robe or slippers. Complained to manager but nothing changed. Was told were only a limited number of rooms and he would try and change me but heard nothing further and was not even asked on check out how my experience in hotel had been. What is point in this hotel offering sauna, gym and beauty treatments if it can't get basics right. V disappointed. Would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Very central hotel, nice views and communial areas

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Central location.
Cons: Rooms feel very basic and outdated. Bedding was rock hard. Maybe time for modernising the rooms a little.
Location: Located in the historic centre, inside the walls. Great to stay inside the city, particularly after about 7-8 when most of the day visitors leave.
Before arriving at the hotel it was pure luck that we found the car park for the hotel. They could sign post this better. Checking in at the hotel was quick and the receptionist was very friendly. Room was a little disappointing, we booked a superior twin and ended up being put in the basement with a not so great view. I certainly didn't feel that the room was 4 stars but the location was great and communal areas pleasant. Would stay here again as long as I got a room on a higher floor with a view of the absolutely stunning surroundings. Wasn's sure what to expect in San Marino but was pleasantly surprised.