Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from york

Good rural location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Rural location
Cons: Everything, including the owners
Location: Villa imperiale casale
Very easy to find. Pretty driveway, walk through courtyard then you enter a dark, untidy, uninviting unwelcoming reception area. Very quick handover. Room small, stuffy, dark. No air con in 40 degree heat! Ceiling fan, with broken light bulb in it. Patio nice, but couldn't use it, or open windows because of fire. Bathroom a bacteria heaven. Broken shower fixings, black mould, broken tiles, raggy towels, few toiletries. How was this 4*? Hairdryer worked. The window was stuffed with cardboard, probably trying to keep creatures out?? The electricity switch was stuffed with cardboard too. Pool area was large, but tiles broken and in need of repair. Evening meal was plentiful and a rustic menu. Pork was dry and over cooked. Dessert was a strange jelly. Antipasti was the best bit. Wine was ok. Breakfast was put out on our table! We were the only guests in mid summer! It seemed like they had raided their own larder. Some fruit juice, water, coffee. Cornflakes or bran flakes, cheese, bread, croissant brought out warm only to hide how stale they were. Fruit was mouldy and wrinkled! When checking out we were asked to give a good review, I give honest reviews! We felt they were more concerned about their vineyard than the safety of their paying guests. We were given no information about evacuation plans whilst the vineyard was on fire. No wifi or phone network. Slept dressed with bags packed and car outside door! So pleased to leave.
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Used to be excellent now it is bad.

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The condition of the property was very good but the towels were fraying and we had to ask twice for a bath mat and the one we received was dreadful but clean. Breakfast was supposed to be at 8.00am but there was no there half the time to even start and they ran out of some foods. There appeared to be fractions between the staff and the owner. One got the impression that the owner was more interested in building up his winery than in worrying about the accommodation side of things. The quality of the room was very good but they had jammed it up with a cot and a single bed. Also there was no desk or anything to write on. There was no WiFi in the room only in the dinner room or courtyard (it was too cold to be outside). The owner needs to alter his attitude if he wants continued business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami FL, USA

Nice agriturismo hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Great service, the food was great! We went off season and it was good!! They have a great selection of wines!! If you go in September you can see how they make the wine . The place has awesome views, close to 2 beautiful small towns, packed with history! We also drove to Agrigento, and it took 1.5hrs. It was worth it. Between may and September you can use the pool!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall disappointing

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
I don't feel you'd particularly want to linger at the hotel as it lacks charm & comfort which is reflected in the price but ok for an overnight stay to be off the beaten track in beautiful countryside We left the choice of dinner in restaurant to the chef & it was a delicious selection of local anti pasta starters followed by pork chops, sausages & salad + 2 glasses of wine & beer for €50
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa, Az

Wine, Food and Views - Piazza Armerina area

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great 2 day stop thru Sicily, beautiful views, great (and a lot) of food, great wines and excellent service in the restaurant...best to know some Italiano or be very good with Google Translate app :-) Driving in Piazza Armerina is quite difficult and never rely on Garmin... recommend TomTom for navigation!
4 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Echuca austalia

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
We loved the views and the old buildings. The mosquitoes were terrible, and the rooms not air conditioned. Perhaps some spray in the rooms would help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Good Choice for a Rotqry Club Meeting

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Anyone who remembers this property when it was called "The Farm" will associate it with friendly family service, and spacious rooms that were as much curated as decorated. The dining hall was an understated affair, true to the history of the building. The new management, however, has taken the property in a different direction, adding several new buildings, including a management building, a winery and a separate building for accommodations. The construction is of high quality. The original rooms in the old building have been repurposed or split. The focus is on the event, catering and tour group business. Staff was helpful and pleasant, but the owner seemed annoyed at the presence of guests. Our room in the new building was cramped and "decorated" in bright turquoise, peach and burgundy colors. It might have worked in an edgy kind of way, but it didn't. The room did have a lovely territorial view, plenty of fresh air, and was quiet until the tour bus arrived. The food is competently executed home style Italian cooking. No English is spoken.
4 out of 5
by AV from California

Nice location in central Sicily

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
Nice surroundings and close to Casa Armerina and Caltagirone among others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Florida

Lovely hotel a nice surprise

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Spacious and clean rooms. Helpful and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Convenient to some key tourist destinations such as Enna, Piazza Armerina andVilla Romana.
Helpful and friendly staff. This is an excellent rejuvenation of what was a monatery, then farm into a hotel. It is also a vinyard and olive orchard and produes an excellent wine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014