Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Overall good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good family run local hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Excellent service. Great customer care. Clean rooms: perfect large clean pool. Be preqred this is a local hotel - staff speak no English but very kind and helpful. You need a car for this hotel. Very clean. Lots of local weddings so some nights can have loud entertainment/ good breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but in need of modernization

Posted Dec 30, 2012 on Hotels
The Pomara is clean, and its staff are very nice, but the tired furniture and rusty bathroom fittings could do with an overhaul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from West Sussex UK

Friendly hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2012
Hotel was very comfortable, staff very willing and friendly. Quiet town/village, but Spar shop and newsagents close to. Excellent restaurant Pomara.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel Pomara San Michele de Ganzaria Sicily

Posted Feb 24, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel Pomara is on a hill - a steel hill! Access from the town requires a one in three climb, whether on foot on when driving. Location means that rooms that face north have spectacular views over the town and surrounding countryside. We stayed in mid February and the hotel seemed virtually empty. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially on the reception desk and the woman that organised the breakfast that consisted of bread and croissants, cold meats and cheese and a variety of fruits. There was also juice and coffee from the bar. The hotel organises conferences and has a reception room - that probably keeps the hotel open in the winter months. The first night we found that a locals 18th birthday party was being held - expect noise. The second night was a valentines night party with an extremely loud disco that kept me awake until the early hours of the morning. The swimming pool, in gardens above the hotel looks very good and the area is surrounded by mimosa trees. However we did not use the pool as the air temperature hovered only just above zero! The hotel has a restaurant in a building just down the hill from the main hotel. Food was excellent and very good value for money. The restauranteur was very friendly and helpful. We decided on the fixed price table d'hote each night and the restauranteur went out of his way to ensure that we had different food each time. everything we had was tasty, freshly cooked and there was plenty of it! We ate far too much! The location was convenient for visiting many of the tourist attractions to be found in the south-east corner of Sicily, from hill towns to Roman ruins.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex, UK

OK mid range hotel with good sized rooms

Posted May 15, 2011 on Hotels
Hotel is signposted from the town which makes it easy to find. It’s up quite a steep hill with its own car park. The hotel is also used for Sicilian functions which included a Fist Communion celebration on the night we were there making it rather noisy till latish at night with children running round. Our room was of a good size with clean comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet was adequate. Staff and reception were friendly. Another couple tried the hotel restaurant for dinner and said it was very good and they felt good value for money (€40 for two as of May 2011).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tel aviv , israel

problem with hot water

Posted May 9, 2011 on Hotels
THE PROBEM !!! THE WATER OF THE SHOWER WAS ALWAYS (ALSO AT 05:00 ) NOT HOT ENOUGHT TO TAKE A SHOWER The room is with a basic-poor furniture The hotel restaurant 1 class with reasonable prices
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawai'i

Hotel Pomara

Posted Apr 24, 2011 on Hotels
More a 2 star hotel or b&b. Nice staff, shabby room, run down bathroom. We were ok with location but be aware that it is in a small town with nothing else there.
4 out of 5
by PHILIPPE from Lorient

Bel endroit dans la montagne pour visiter

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Bel endroit surplombant le village, de plus notre arrivée plus tôt que prévu n'a pas gêné et notre chambre a été prêté 20 minutes plus tard, belle pisan qui sert également de piscine municipale je pense mais le personnel sait se faire respecter par les "trop bruyants"
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ein Hotel mit Charme

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Ein Hotel mit Charme. Das Zimmer mit Balkon und Aussicht war toll. Etwas ringhörig. Super Restaurant.