Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Publicidad engañosa

Posted Mar 8, 2018
Los desayunos solo están incluidos para adultos. Nos sirvieron fruta en vasijas completamente quebradas. El desayuno es mínimo, una sola bebida o fruta y pan eso es todo. Demasiado costoso para tan poco que ofrecen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kiamesha Lake, NY

Peaceful with Beautiful surroundings

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Cons: At night there was a lack of hot water and the Wi-Fi connection in the room was weak. Hot water situation improved on the weekend when they are busy.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this beautiful hotel. Its surroundings are beautiful, an ideal place if you are looking for peace and relaxation. It is about a fifteen minute walk from the city center and returning to the hotel definitely requires a taxi. The front desk staff are very friendly and courteous. Adriana even lent us money on the first for a taxi as we hadn't had a chance to withdrawal money from a atm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2018 by Adriana Tovar, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your visit, your comfort is essential for us. We hope to see you again for this your home
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold nights at the Hacienda

Posted Feb 5, 2018 on Hotels
I went there for a wedding. The location is far from the city center and if transport had been readily available, I might not have mentioned it. But we had to allot 15-20 minutes waiting time in addition to the 15-20 minute ride in, adding almost an hour or so with buffer time. Be ready at 4 for the dinner at 5, when SMA is not that big. The restaurant was below average (continental bread basket had dried old buns, lunch flautas were cold). The room was very cold and hard to heat. We had to ask for blankets, for the fireplace to be lit, and hairdryer to be brought in. We spent two cold nights at the Hacienda. The staff was amenable but needed to be reminded of requests. The place is well cared for and quite beautiful and it is a shame that the beauty is lost in the shuffle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive and ok

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. You can just enjoy the pool and the view and you will be happy. I didn't like the beds, they are very hard and the rooms are cold. There is not way they will turn the heat since they just do it from Nov-Feb.
1 out of 5
by Marina

They advertised services not available.

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was a hassle to get to the hotel. About 45 minutes going around until we finally got there. To find out the hotel was empty, only one person in the front desk. What they charged was unjustified. No restaurant service at the hotel. We decided not to stay there. We'll be looking for a refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice destinación away from town.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Nice hotel with plenty to do. Not far from town and beautiful views.
5 out of 5
by Monserrat

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There was no more place to stay

Posted Apr 13, 2017
I book and paid 2 weeks before eastern week, so there were no more choices I get what I paid, don't expect too much, it cost you around 3 dollars to get to the hotel from the main sqare, you can walk down in about 10 to 15 minutes, but unless you are doing aerobics you can not go up walking, it is very steep It is clean, rooms do not have air conditioner, it is a little bit hot in April It seems like there have been some steps in bulding the rooms, not all are the same The nicest room we have, we have to change it because an issue with the drainage of the shower. Because it is like a true rancho and have a lot of wood in its construction, and looks nice and there is no noise and you can hear the birds, something during the night fell in my mothers arm, She was very lucky it was an little scorpion, previously she was move to other room because of the smell of insecticide in the first room ( the issue with the drainage was with other friends, we have 7 rooms) The issue with the scorpion is because the hotel is almost outside of the town and it is a rancho, we understand it and things make sense with the insecticide smell, so you have to take it into account and I don't know if older hotels in town have the same issue 2 people from the staff is rude, most of the staff is nice, you are not going to receive anything extra, it seems sometimes that there is not enough staff to get things work well We have a great time in Guanajuato, it is beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Old hotel with beautiful gardens

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The gardens and patios
Cons: Rooms needs updating, especially the bathrooms.
Location: Many goods things to do in San Miguel de Allende
This is a charming old hotel with beautiful gardens and a nice pool and jacuzzi, but the rooms need to be updated, specially the bathrooms. As well as some of the furnishings. Most of the staff was very courteous and went out of their way to help, except the man that was at the front desk when we arrived. We wanted different room, and we were willing to pay more. We got the lower ones with windows to the main road and the afternoon sun blasting on them. He will not accommodate us, told us the hotel was full. For the first two morning there were three tables for breakfast, on the third morning a big group of around 60 people had arrived, but the hotel has more than 50 rooms, so.... It is a good 10-15 minute walk to the center of town in cobblestone streets, but it is hard to return walking. Luckily taxis are very easy and cheap in San MIguel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Facilities are beautiful, it needs updated, but overall great place to stay.