Ratings based on 1,462 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Staff was excellent. Room was very nice and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great Location, Fabulous price

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Location and Price
Location: Only 20-25 minutes from Golden Gate Bridge and Presidio. 20-25 minutes from Somona Raceway. Good location!
The hotel really needs updating, but with that said, great place, great food, great location. I am really glad we found it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel outside busy SF.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
My sister recommended this hotel and she was right about it. It was a little pricey but it included a served to order breakfast, which was very good, the dining area was very nice. Cocktail hour for my husband and snacks for me, clean room...great experience overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Good location for sightseeing

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Good location, nice breakfast.
Cons: Carpet, paint, furniture, window coverings, etc. Could definitely use updating.
Location: Great location for getting to Napa, Sonoma, Muir woods, and San Francisco.
We booked a "Corner Room, Premium" on-line because it was supposed to be a little bigger. When we arrived said the corner rooms were occupied. I stated that I had reserved it. Then he said that the corner room had had a problem and needed to be repaired. He gave us a different room for the night and said we could move to the corner room the next day. The room he gave us was right next to the elevator and the room looked out onto the railroad tracks (noisy). It also had a big water stain on the ceiling in the living room area with mold growing. We complained again and were given a decent room. The next day we moved to the corner room that we had "reserved". This hotel definitely needs a remodel, especially for what they charge!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

staff good; hotel needs update

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The staff is doing the best it can with an old hotel. Our room's bath had been updated but the door needed paint. The cabinet for the air conditioner was ugly and in disrepair. The couch sagged and had tears in two places. The room was dark and unappealing and laid out poorly. We have been pleased with other Embasdy Suites but not this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Europe

Comfortable, Spacious Suites Near San Francisco

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Quietness, comfortable beds, big bathroom, close proximity to the Golden Gate, lots of parking spaces.
Cons: Parking accrues additional charges to the bill but the parking lot isn't fenced off. Would feel better if it were, although area didn't feel dangerous
Location: Golden Gate bridge within 10-15 minutes by car, San Francisco beyond that with lots to see: China Town, Alcatraz, ferry rides, etc.
Me and my fiancee wanted to find a hotel near San Francisco but outside its busy traffic and expensive rents. This hotel proved perfect as it was within 10-15 minutes away from the Golden Gate by car but didn't have the inflated prices. The interior of the hotel is rather interesting - a building within a building, with the central area serving as the dining room and lobby with a waterfall while the walls are lined with suite doors. Very interesting, albeit a little humid due to the aforementioned water feature. The rooms were clean, very spacious and equipped with comfortable beds. a refrigerator as well as microwave and coffee maker are provided. Despite the outdoor-style suite doors, the suites themselves were quiet and offered rest and relaxation. Free wi-fi was provided despite the fact that Expedia warned wi-fi was a payable option. Be careful arriving at night if you're driving down the freeway as the roads and intersections leading to the hotel can be ever so slightly confusing. Plenty of parking space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable Family Option Close to San Francisco

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff was awesome! We arrived a few hours before check-in time, but since a room was ready, they let us slide on in (yes, we're HHonors
Location: Muir Woods, Mt. Tam, Sausalito, San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge
Four adults went searching for an affordable hotel close to San Francisco. We found it at the Embassy Suites in San Rafael, about 30 minutes north of SF, just across the Golden Gate Bridge. The hotel is older, yet was perfect for us. We did not use the pool, nor take advantage of the free evening happy hour, but the breakfast was fine and enough to get us on the road before our days at Muir Woods, Mt. Tam, Sausalito, and eventually into The City. Typical two room suite; hubby and I took the king sized bed; sister and mom shared the hide-a-bed in living area. Both TV's worked fine, and WI-FI speed was great. We did have to ask for additional blankets, but housekeeping brought those up after a simple phone call. Aside from a VERY weak shower head (hey, the drought is over!), everyone was happy with their accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good base camp for a few days of wine tours.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Got us a good location for both Sonoma and Napa. Traffic was easy from here on a holiday weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Helena, CA

Great facility but expesive

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Facility.
Cons: Better pancakes.
Location: Nothing within walking distance.
Good breakfast and easy location. While you can't walk to anywhere, the Hotel is far enough off the freeway so it is very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from richmond,va

We have stayed here before.......

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Cons: A few more k-cups would be nice, i'm a big coffee drinker!!
We have stayed in the past, and had a great stay again. It is a super kid friendly hotel, pool and breakfast bar, is a hit in the morning. The staff has always been friendly, and helpful. And the indoor waterfall and koi pond is a fun activity for the kids as well. Will stay her again!