Ratings based on 733 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Limited parking, no street parking available without being towed away. Guests should be given priority parking privilege and guests with more than one vehicle should have to park their additional vehicles on the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Hole in floor under carpet in front of vanity. Tripped several times. Watched a strange guy walk up and down the street in front of parking lot. Disturbing. Not a good stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach

stay away from this hotel.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Get away as quick as you can.
Hotel and grounds were dirty on the outside and parking lot was very crowded. I had to crawl over from the passenger side because a large work truck was allowed to park next to me . No wash towels or soap in the room and the AC was turned off and it was 100 degrees when we got in . Breakfast looked so awful that we left and went to McDonald's. Great hotel if you're a homeless or a druggie.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Long story short...

Posted Sep 6, 2017
There was an attempted break in into my room at 1:30 am at night. The man (crook) who tried to get in actually was able to get get the door open but luckily the door jam stopped him. I asked Expedia for a refund but the owner of the hotel declined. Seriously, do not stay here your life may be in jeopardy. No joke!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Low price for the area

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Lower price than elsewhere
Close to the highway but not in a particularly nice part of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated the terrific value that we provide, although naturally, we are disappointed that you didn't love our location. We hope that our proximity to the airport will entice you to stay with us again when you next require a room in this area. Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Shower no water pressure felt like hole in floor front desk not that great
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
We apologize profusely for the deficiency in our standard. It is surprising that we dropped the ball in this area. Upon knowing about this, our team should have been more proactive in taking care of this and in making sure you had a perfect stay once again. Please know that we are following up on this with our team on this to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Thanks again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I hoped gir

Posted Aug 21, 2017
I've stayed here before with better results but this time will be the last. The room was not what you would expect for that amount of money. For another $25 I could have stayed in a three star hotel. This was a nice room 40 years ago but not now. Towels are thin and useless. Took 3 minutes for the shower to get hot. Carpet is gross. They screwed up my check in and were rude. I was being kind by giving them two stars but I have seen worse. The odd part is they sell out every night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our room service team does a great job making sure rooms are prepared well daily, so it is strange that this happened. Please know that we will be looking into this to ensure this does not happen again. We hope this won't dissuade you from staying with us on a future occasion, we would love to show you the standard of cleanliness that we usually maintain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Easy to find, room clean, had 1 issue while there and the staff took care of it as soon as it was reported. Excellent service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of our stay with us. We will pass compliments to our staff, they will be pleased to read your comments. Thank you so much.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CarbondLe Ill

No good communication with staff.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Staff are not friendly at front desk and i wasnt happy with lack of communication.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, and thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, we were happy to welcome you to our hotel. Customer service is a key focus of ours, so we are very disappointed that you were not pleased with the friendliness of our staff. We hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again, we would love to host you on a future occasion, and offer you the hospitable service that we are known for. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Semi clean place to rest your head.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Clean towels and sheets. Outlet in room non existent. It was there but not attached therefore not usable. Luckily there was a usable one in the bathroom. Hair in bathtub and bathroom floor. Wouldn't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, we appreciate your business. We are sorry that you found a hair in your bathtub, please rest assured that this would have been cleaned thoroughly prior to your checking in, but the housekeeper could have shed a hair afterwards. We are very sorry that they power outlet in your room was not working, and we wish that you had made us aware of this during your stay, we would happily have offered you an alternate. Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management