Ratings based on 714 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CarbondLe Ill

No good communication with staff.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Staff are not friendly at front desk and i wasnt happy with lack of communication.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, and thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, we were happy to welcome you to our hotel. Customer service is a key focus of ours, so we are very disappointed that you were not pleased with the friendliness of our staff. We hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again, we would love to host you on a future occasion, and offer you the hospitable service that we are known for. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Semi clean place to rest your head.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Clean towels and sheets. Outlet in room non existent. It was there but not attached therefore not usable. Luckily there was a usable one in the bathroom. Hair in bathtub and bathroom floor. Wouldn't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, we appreciate your business. We are sorry that you found a hair in your bathtub, please rest assured that this would have been cleaned thoroughly prior to your checking in, but the housekeeper could have shed a hair afterwards. We are very sorry that they power outlet in your room was not working, and we wish that you had made us aware of this during your stay, we would happily have offered you an alternate. Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel with super cold staff.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We checked in and immediately checked out as the hotel was VERY VERY bad. Staff did not even refund our night's stay even though we did not stay - said it was 'Hotel policy '. Rooms smelly and the location quite bad. Expedia says it is 5.8 miles but it is double that distance to the Muir Woods national park - that was another big negative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that our hotel was not what you had expected and that you opted to leave our facilities early. Unfortunately, like most hotels, we cannot provide refunds for such late cancellations. If there are any specifics as to how we could improve your stay in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks like fast earthquake repair

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: The bed.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: It's near wine country, but you should stay up in Santa Rosa instead.
This hotel is pretty run-down, in the armpit of two freeways, the 580 and the 101. The structure loos almost like they had an earthquake and just decided to repair over the broken walkways, adding a concrete ripple in front of our room on the second floor. The walls are super thin, so you can hear everything your neighbor is doing...everything! Our second room had a broken door lock, and the phone was literally connected to "nothing". The only redeeming factor was the bed, but not the pillows. For the $$, stay somewhere else!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience during your recent stay with us. We try very hard to make our guests stays as pleasant as possible, and it is always a disappointment when we learn one of them has left with a less than the first-rate experience. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our location. It is pleasing to note that you found our beds comfortable. We will have our team connect the phone in your room and repair the broken lock, and we apologize for the inconvenience. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Downey, Ca,.

It's really close to the freeway and bowling alley

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Close to the bowling alley.
The place is just ok to rest your head at night as intended with a Travelodge. Nothing fancy for sure and really not a great place to hangout and relax. Does not really truly reflect San Rafael and the surrounding are which i found to be quite nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad you had an ok stay with us, but we want you to love your stay with us. If there is anything we can do to improve your experience in the future, please do let us know. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back again. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Continental breakfast didn't start until 7 am.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Location: Bowling alley. Pretty good Mexican restaurant.
We didn't stick around until 7am for the continental breakfast. Breakfast area was very small, so our expectations weren't high. Room was OK, but overpriced. Desk clerk complained how much commission third party booking (Expedia) takes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear you did not have the chance to try our breakfast offering and we hope you may get the opportunity next time you visit with us. Although our breakfast area is small, most of our guests find the breakfast offered to be a great start to their day. It is disappointing to hear you found your room overpriced; we feel we offer great value rooms for the service offered. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by Evelyn

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
The door had about n inch of space under it that bugs could get in. The door was slanting really bad and there was a hole in the floor under the rug that you could feel.
2 out of 5
by david

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
unfriendly check in. When TV wasn't working they told me how I might fix it myself.
5 out of 5
by Melinda

Travel Lodge Stay

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable bed and clean room but there were no wash clothes and only one hand towel. Fairly quite for being so close to the freeway. Booked our room separately from our daughter but ended up next door to each other with our other family members right below us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Older but clean

Posted May 14, 2017
The rooms were clean. We had requested 2 Queen beds. It was like a suite with 2 rooms and a Queen bed & TV in each room. The breakfast was not much. Fruit, juice, coffee, cereal, sweet rolls but no place to sit. It fit our needs and I would book there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we would be your hotel of choice next time you are in the area. It is great to note that you enjoyed your clean and spacious room. Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast offering, we will take this into account when we are next reviewing our menu. Best wishes, Hotel Management