Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis

A beautiful and delightful surprise

Posted Apr 25, 2017
We came to Villa Blanca as a recommendation for a place to stay half way from San Jose to La Fortuna. We had no idea how wonderful our one day stay would be. We took the nature hike with a knowledgeable guide and that was inspirational to say the least. The grounds and views were unbelievably beautiful including a full rainbow over the valley at dusk. Our casita was cozy with the fireplace lit at night. The staff was among the best and most attentive and welcoming we've ever experienced. And the food...oh my goodness! Gourmet!! We will return and the next time it will be for a lot longer than one night. And did I say...all of this while being in an ecological preserve unmatched...my name is John Jump. I cannot recommend this resort highly enough! Ps: don't miss the chapel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Relaxing food better than expected

Posted Apr 10, 2017
A good place for a first stop in CR. Not too hot or jungly but still close to nature. Milking the cows was the best thing for our two boys (7 & 5).
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gaby from Boulder CO

Beautiful resort!

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
This place is Beyond amazing!! The staff, location, the place the view and food just perfection. It is for that couple that wants to completely disconnect and find a beautiful sanctuary to relax and recharge. It is a food to table restaurant and the food was fresh and well prep. Each room is a little casita, that has its own deck in the back for you to enjoy nature. Just outstanding place.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Denver, CO

Wonderful and Authentic Costa Rican Experience

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
We loved everything about Villa Blanca. Most of the food you eat there is from their own gardens, and their staff was so knowledgeable about the local area and all the wildlife/reptiles we saw in the area. Everyone was so kind and helpful. From the time we booked the hotel until the minute we left, we were in constant contact with the staff and they did everything they could to make sure our stay there was everything we wanted it to be. We would most definitely go back to visit, and we will tell all our friends about our stay there.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Bedfordshire

Great stay in the clouds

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful place to completely relax and get away from it all. The wild life is amazing. The staff were equally as good, especially Ingrid the night walk guide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Wonderful hotel and staff. A true gem just north of San Ramon. Location was somewhat challenging, but otherwise we would stay again and recommend.
5 out of 5
by Andre from Gulfport, Florida

Romantic getaway

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel for romantic getaway. Food is good, spa is good, service is good. Beautiful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

The Best Hotel I have stayed in Costa Rica

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!!
I have visited Costa Rica seven times over the last 30 years. My sister and I had dinner there about 25 years ago. I am now living here and decided to take my wife to Villa Blanca for her birthday. We stayed for one night. I can attest to the hotel/restaurant being the best experience I have had in Costa Rica!! The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to attend to your every need. The cabinas are kept spotless! Each one has a fireplace which you can enjoy during the evening. The grounds are well kept and you can go for walks on the trails to see the flora and fauna, especially the beautiful humming birds. We had lunch there and watched the Costa Rican soccer team win their World Cup game. Dinner was excellent and well presented by the chef. They grow their own vegetables there! The staff presented my wife with a small cake and sang Feliz Cumpleanos (Happy Birthday) to her! Overall, I rate everything about Villa Blanca as EXCELLENT!!
4 out of 5
by T. Whitt from North Carolina

Beautiful propery

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels
the hotel and grounds were beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, if you don't have a car you are pretty much stuck at the hotel. There is not a lot to do at the hotel. It is quite a distance from the town and taxis were expensive. the meals and sundries at the hotel were priced pretty high since you had no options to go otherwise. i think the hotel should provide a low cost/free shuttle service into town.