Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice and Convenient

Posted Oct 15, 2017
It is a pretty hotel, which is centrally located. I did not encounter any issues. However, for the price we paid, I wasn't blown away. The room was lovely, but I will say that the bathroom and shower were small and the doors weren't easy to close. Also, while we mostly wanted to enjoy the area, we also wanted to enjoy the hotel one night while staying in. It was 20€ to rent a movie, which is a lot after what we were already paying. Not the end of the world, but I stayed at less extravagant hotels during my trip and had a better experience. Overall, if you are looking for a nice hotel in the city, this is it. Hope this helps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing place

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Really beautiful and historical hotel to stay in.. close to the old town. The staff were really helpful and could not do enough to make our stay as special as possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Elegant hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Tastefully decorated, elegant hotel. Every detail was perfect. Everybody, from receptionists to vales, to housekeeping staff, to bellboys, to consierge, was incredibly nice, courteous and friendly at the same time. We had a memorable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Close to the old town.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Only stayed one night but the hotel was very nice. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Fabulous, beautiful and excellently managed

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The building, facilities, rooms, decoration, amenities, etc, are all updated and modernized without compromising the stately old-world charm. STAFF!!!
Cons: Procedures for dealing with poorly behaved and disruptive guests should be reviewed. We were unable to sleep one night because of a rude guest.
Location: Near the old quarter with its pintxos and tapas bars, the beach, etc. Very centrally located and accessible.
An absolutely gorgeous and comfortable hotel. We stayed here for two nights in late July. Super deluxe without being at all stuffy. Staff was caring and courteous and friendly as well as eminently capable and professional. The hotel is perfectly located in San Sebastian and the old quarter is a five minute walk away. If not for the loutish behavior of a fellow hotel guest, our stay would have been perfect. The gentleman, and I use the term politely only, woke us up at 3:00 am shouting and cursing in the foulest of language at hotel staff who admirably remained calm throughout. Unfortunately, the incident lasted far too long and involved hotel security and the police, and forcible entry into the man's room when he refused to comply with orders to open his door after he physically threatened a female staffer. We witnessed much of the incident and I can say unequivocally that the guest was completely unreasonable and likely drunk, and that hotel staff tried their best to calmly and quietly settle the situation. And the next day, hotel management apologized profusely to us and compensated us to our absolute satisfaction for the loss of a quiet night's sleep and for our trouble. I can't fault the hotel at all for the incident; still, it was shocking to encounter such bad behavior by a guest at such a deluxe hotel. I sincerely hope the gentleman in question is banned forever from the Hotel Maria Cristina, regardless of whatever circumstances set him off.
5 out of 5
by kjartan

comfort service and location

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
amazing hotel outstanding breakfast but dinner Restaurant which is operated by a french michelin cook is overrated and overpriced, exelennt service and beautiful surroundings but food is not near Arzak or Akelarre. , but overall exellent stay :)
5 out of 5
by Diana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jason

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
fantastic hotel in a great location in the heart of a fascinating city
5 out of 5
by Yazad

Brilliant

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Nothing more amazing that this hotel. While expensive, worth the cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, perfect location, great staff

Posted Jun 29, 2017
This hotel is amazing, the staff were great and the location was perfect- close to the old town, beaches and main sights