Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, perfect location, great staff

Posted Jun 29, 2017
This hotel is amazing, the staff were great and the location was perfect- close to the old town, beaches and main sights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Best

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location and Luxury
Location: Opposite the hotel is the hop on off bus stop and also bear by the small train tour. Or alternatively just walk as we did
The staff were exceptional and very attentive. Luxurious facilities and the best bed I have ever slept in. Don't forget to try the cocktails too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location

Posted May 20, 2017
This hotel is in a great location, staff were all very helpful. Room was fantastic and kept spotless. Would have been nice to have tea/ coffee available in room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful Hotel, great service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Wonderful hotel wonderful place

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Beautifully refurbished hotel, luxurious and contemporary nodding back to its classical lines and history. Our room was huge,masses of hanging space ,a marble bathroom which I'd love to replicate at home and it was light and bright. It would have been nice to have a kettle provided. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the decor great. Some original artwork would have made it almost perfect. The hotel is right by the beach which was wonderful to take advantage of on sunny days. It was also moments from the old town and all of its bars and pintxo restaurants. The new town which was also quite beautiful, where the shops were was also as close. The hotel staff were all delightful. The gourmet food shop was great for gifts, the bar was welcoming and unpretentious . Breakfast was fantastic with plate upon plate of fruit, meats, cheese, eggs sausages pastries and home made layered yoghurt and fruit concoctions. We ate also in the hotel restaurant which had Chinese style food. we found this a little disappointing, the room didn't quite work, it felt neither Far East Asian nor in keeping with the style of the rest of the hotel. The lighting was stark and the acoustics echoed. The food was good enough, but rather average. For a hotel of this caliber I would have expected a better standard of restaurant and we couldn't understand why the breakfast room wasn't used as an evening dining room serving maybe traditional basque food. That said we loved our stay and will be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chen

Exceptional hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Maria Cristina is a luxurious and exceptionally fine hotel. It's conveniently located across the bay and near all the Pintxos bars. It's very clean and was recently renovated. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Luxury and comfort!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Cons: Nothing needed improvement.
Location: We did not stay in town long so I cannot comment on things to do nearby. We took a short walk to the beach and it was breathtaking!
We are not luxury hotel people so this was a treat for us! What a beautiful hotel with wonderful staff. We had beautiful views of the beach across the street. Our rooms were phenomenal!! We had drinks and small meals at the hotel bar area. The waiter was wonderful. Such a warm and comfortable place for such a luxurious place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Super room with riverside views. Reception staff all very helpfull
5 out of 5
by jason

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Worth every penny.....simply amazing....staff anticpates every desire before you do.... Amazing property!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

wonderful location, friendly staff, luxury service

Posted Jan 4, 2017
wonderful location, friendly staff, luxury service