Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Great place to stay. Heated pool and jacuzzi. Fire pit at night
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

In Hearst castle area

Posted Aug 23, 2016
It was a good choice since we wanted to visit the Hearst property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed - no ocean view!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Room clean/comfortable/quiet. If price is right, might stay again but compare price to hotels with no ocean view & hotels with an actual ocean view.
Cons: If "ocean view" on Expedia - then the hotel should give an ocean view. If Expedia has incorrect info, then do something about it! Train staff.
Location: Castle Warehouse/trading post both closed. Liquor store/bar across the street busy until about 10/11pm - otherwise nothing here, drive to Cambria.
Expedia booking does not match hotel info - false advertising and staff not helpful about it. I booked a room that showed "ocean view" in the booking and check in time 3 pm. I got there just before 3 and was told I could not check in until 4! I told the staff they needed to communicate with Expedia to update the info. Staff non responsive and seemed bored. Came back for check in and told there is no ocean view for the two double bed rooms. Given room that was FARTHEST from ocean and facing the HIGHWAY and overlooking the hotel lobby roof (and no robes provided as mentioned in another review). Bar and Liquor store across highway had a lot of traffic until about 10 or 11 pm. Luckily room was relatively quiet, clean, and comfortable to make up for that although for the price and the info provided at booking, I expected more. Nice hotel but seems overpriced for age/amenities - for example they had popcorn ceilings, balcony had old plastic chairs and bird poop. Plus side - hotel grounds are on the beach and there are two small pools - beach had rough surf and lots of sand crabs. Side note: hotel said outside firepits would be lit around 7 or sunset and neither happened. Many people gathered around the firepits and kept checking but they weren't lit. It was chilly so people went inside.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean Front!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: How close to the ocean.
Cons: Get rid of the honor bar, I know they are taking advantage of the remoteness of the area, but really?
Location: Ocean front. There are beaches to explore, Hearst Castle, elephant seal rookery and Big Sur up the road.
We arrived to the hotel about 9 pm, after an easy check-in we were told that there were fire pits along the bluff. So we dropped our gear and headed out to the bluffs. Amazing time, we just sat in lawn chairs, were warmed by a nice fire and listened to the ocean crash below us. What a wonderful experience! This place is ocean front! Our room was nicely sized, older and not very well soundproofed, we could hear our neighbors. The bathroom was nice, and I loved all the little travel sized things: shampoo, makeup remover, nail polish remover, and a scrub for those tired feet! That was awesome. In the morning we took a long walk on the beach- I wish we could have stayed another night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on beach

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Nice visit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice property

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Nice view, clean and friendly. Very close to the beach and many restaurants, but by no means touristy. Just wished there was a freezer area in the fridge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

friendly staff

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Older hotel but still good. Reception staff were very informative and friendly - would stay there again. Beachfront location and fire pits excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The hotel on beach Nice hotel good services Not exist air conditioning
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Hotel super bem localizado, ótimo restaurante, ótimos atendentes. Ficaria de novo várias vezes. Muito boa a experiência.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord CA

Weekend stay

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The room was what I expected. It was very comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the keurig coffee maker in my room. I was worried about not having air conditioning but with the windows open and the fan it stayed cool. The location was great. Right between Cambria and Hearst castle. Will stay again.