Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: It's location and friendly, helpful staff.
Location: Great restaurants close by. Visited Hearst Castle up the road and Moonstone Beach for lunch and walking.
This hotel is under going renovation having been bought late last year by new owners. The location is great, you can walk to everything in town, quiet location and friendly staff. Wine and cheese a plus and simple breakfast offerings due to renovation. Would definitely go back. We were upgraded to a suite which added to our enjoyment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Emily - Assistant Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review! Our renovations are due to be completed in the Fall. It was a pleasure meeting you ! Please come stay with us again soon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westbrook, CT

PCH Road Trip

Posted Aug 3, 2016
My boyfriend and I spent a week traveling up the PCH from LA to San Fran. Our stay at the Burton Inn was the best of the week. Our room was huge and comfortable. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and snacks from 5-6. Joanna told us about hiking/walking at the Fiscalini Ranch Preserve, which was awesome. We would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Emily - Assistant Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled to hear Joanna provided exceptional service and that you enjoyed your stay. Please come again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Woods, Ca.

Spacious rooms in the center of Cambria. Ca.!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Friendly staff and spacious rooms! What a gift to two tired travelers!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2016 by Emily - Assistant Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms. We take pride in the size of our rooms. We look forward to your return once our restoration is complete.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to great local shops and restaurants

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Spacious room and deep bathtub in suite
Cons: Can't think of a thing. They are in process of adding a fire pit on back patio area which will only enhance the charm!
Location: GREAT restaurants, antique malls & local shops
Room was so spacious and comfy. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Made our anniversary weekend so special that we can't wait to stay again. It was so close to everything that we walked everywhere, from the local shops to amazing local restaurants & pubs. Just perfect for a romantic get-away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2016 by Assistant Manager - Emily , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us ! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your anniversary weekend at our Inn. Please come again soon !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb suite.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Attractive location and handy for hurst castle.
Welcome wine and cheese very nice. Pity breakfast didn't have anything to go with the preserves. Told lady was late to work and didn't have time to defrost and cook croissants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Assistant Manager - Emily , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Burton Inn. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our wine and hors d'oeuvres social. Although we aren’t advertising for breakfast at this time, we wanted to provide a taste of what’s to come after our renovations are complete. Currently we put out the complimentary surprise of freshly made scones, muffins or croissants. We apologize the anticipated croissants were not present the morning you desired them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Very nice hotel, near centre of small town.

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Everything but especially the staff and the spacious and comfortable room.
Location: Small town. Good number of restaurants nearby. Hearst Castle not far away. Not far from a number of vineyards with wine tastings available.
The staff at the Burton Inn are a major asset to this business. They are friendly and helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble. They also are very proud of their hotel which is very apparent. We were upgraded to a suite on check in, which made us regret we were only there for one night. The complimentary wine tasting was an unexpected bonus and as they are unable, in the short term, to offer their full breakfast menu, a basket of fruit and pastries was offered, which was more than adequate. Cambria is a fairly small town but conveniently located for our journey South and the recommendation of a place to dine was a good one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2016 by Assistant Manager - Emily , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We take pride in providing exceptional service to each and every one of our guests. Please stay with us again after our renovations are complete!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Canyon, AZ

Close to Hurst Castle.

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Location is wonderful - just off Route 1 and Main Street.
An overnight stay as we traveled along Route 1 - visited the Hurst Castle. Great room and hospitality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2016 by Assistant Manager - Emily , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please come again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
nice stay, great location,friendly staff. breakfast was not what i expected. (plastic wrapped small baked goods) I would recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2016 by RONAY, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As we are under renovation, we have decided to not include breakfast in our rates. We now are providing complimentary freshly baked pastries in our lobby . We hope to see you again
4 out of 5
by Pierre-Louis

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by RONAY, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Please come again !
4 out of 5
by Cory from San diego

Power Outage and high spirits

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived and the place was in the middle of a power outage due to a freak storm. The hotel called us and let us know. I did not check my messages, so we arrived to a surprise. They had lanterns, an impromptu tea and cheese and wine get together for everyone. It was a bit cold that night so we all piled into one bed. The room was huge and nicely appointed. By morning the storm damage was fixed and the power was back on, the shower was hot and the complementary breakfast was a nice array of options. All in all a good trip and a nice place to stay. It was a little bit of modern camping and the stars that night were so close you felt you could touch them...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by RONAY, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! The power outage was definitely an eventful night and memorable for us . We are thrilled you were able to enjoy our accommodations during this time.We would love for you to come back and enjoy another stay with us when our renovations are complete . We enjoyed chatting with you !