Ratings based on 1,855 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Nice hotel in Cambria in a lush garden setting.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Really enjoyed a weekend away in Cambria at the Cambria Pines Lodge. The room was excellent and very quiet as it was one of the cottages farther away from the Lodge. We had dinner on site on of the nights and it was very good. The breakfast that is included in the price is substantial and changes each day. The Spa on site is amazing and Christi provided the best facial we have ever experienced. Highly recommend both the Spa services, the hotel and the restaurant on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Cons: The bed ( mattress).
Location: Great area for hiking.
We have stayed here a few times and each time has been a good experience. The only complaint this time was that the bed was a little uncomfortable, as it wasn´t flat: the mattress was lower in the middle. OK if you aren´t sharing the bed. Otherwise, we were happy. The front desk included a complimentary bottle of wine with our dinner, when I mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary- very much appreciated. The food in the restaurant was very good! And the breakfast is always excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Clean, pretty hotel. Great lounge with live music

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Very nice hotel, wonderful breakfast, lounge has live music, seemed like a lot of locals gather here. 5 minute drive to beach area. Rooms clean and staff friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

great location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Been going there 21yrs twice a year but this time the guys at the check in desk need to get new jobs not accommodating arent very helpful seemed pretty annoyed to help people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Becky, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your continued patronage. Please forgive us for our lapse in guest service during your most recent stay. Although everyone has a bad day once in awhile, it is never okay for staff to show anything less than kindness and courtesy to our guests. We promise to do better next time. See you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with an awesome nursery

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location and room
Location: The ocean is only a couple of minutes away and shopping in downtown Cambria is great. The city is very quaint and beautiful.
This hotel is truly wonderful. The rustic look and feel makes you think you are in the mountains, while the ocean is close by. The rooms are spacious and very clean, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic getaway!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Great trip! Can't wait to go back! Great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel in the Pines

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: I enjoyed the grounds. Beautiful walking trails and gardens.
Cons: More chooses for breakfast. Three days of the same was a little much
Location: Shopping in town, Moonstone beach, Hearst Castle and the Elephant Seals
We came up for Christmas. Just live a couple hours south but it really feels like a vacation. We had a room with a fireplace. It was very comfortable and specious. My daughter and I also had a message in your spa that was wonderful and topped off our trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel with some issues

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The decor and the layout.
Cons: better maintenance of the rooms - our bathroom handheld shower thing in the tub was broken and did not work.
Location: The location is fine, but I prefer to stay in hotels that are within walking distance to things - which this hotel is not.
We've stayed at this beautiful hotel before, but this time we had some issues that made it less desirable for us in the future. The bed was worn out - e.g., the mattress had deep grooves and was not comfortable. The water pressure and volume were so low that taking a shower, filling the tub, or even trying to brush your teeth were real struggles. We had an ant problem in the bathroom that steadily got worse. And the food at the restaurant was ordinary to mediocre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Raw meat

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Dinner under cooked and the toilet constantly plugged up. Water was just a trickle
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Becky, Hotel Management
We apologize that your meat was not cooked to the temperature ordered, and hope that you sent it back to be refired. Our maintenance crew is always happy to come out and help with any plumbing issues. Thanks for the feedback. We hope to see you again the next time you are in our area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The setting.
Cons: The heating was sub-standard and difficult to use. We were either too hot or too cold; no happy medium. In addition the in room coffee was terrible.
The staff failed to inform us that a complimentary breakfast was included.