Ratings based on 1,793 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

netter Abstecher

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Toller Garten
Cambria ist ein kleines Städtchen, mit typischem Flair. Das Hotel ist eine unerwartet grosse Anlage, sehr schön gelegen und sehr gepflegt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Becky, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank für die positive Bewertung!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K

Very nice & comfortable room

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Beautiful coastline - only stayed one night but wish it could have been longer.
We didn't rate the breakfast that much - could have been better but we loved the comfortable room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carmel, United States of America

A relaxing stay

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Our room was comfortable and spacious and not stuffy. The fireplaces are a nice touch along with the balcony off the bedroom . The bathroom was also large. The trails on the property and gardens are great for a relaxing walk. We didn't have an opportunity to use the pool, but the area looked very nice. The main lodge is cute and the restaurant and bar are very nice. They were both busy on a Tuesday night and popular with locals. This is a relaxing and homey place to stay to explore the little town of Cambria and nearby Moonstone Beach and Hearst Castle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful relaxing ambiance.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: All
Cons: Staff could have been more professional and cater to the guests
Location: Wine tasting, Moostone beach, Elephant seals, Hearst Castle
If you want the sense of a mountain retreat, but access to the beach, wine tasting, artisans in a quiet village setting, this hotel is worth trying. The restaurant is superb, the rooms with forest view are well equipped and the grounds are lovely to explore.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madras, Oregon

Nice hotel close to beach and Hearst Castle.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Location, full breakfast, lounge had live entertainment, friendly staff, nice room.
Cons: The walls need to be better insulated.
Location: Located near Cambria beach, San Simeon beach, Hearst Castle, Elephant seal viewing area, Piedras Blancas lighthouse.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious, with a fireplace (which we did not use). The only complaint was that the walls were very thin and we could hear the entire conversation of the people next door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Beautiful location in the trees.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms. Great food.
Location: Beautiful location with a boardwalk on the beach. Close to the Elephant Seal rookery which was a must see.
After the long, and quite boring at times, drive from LA it was so refreshing to drive into such a gorgeous town as Cambria. The check-in was easy and friendly and the room was very spacious. We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely as well as the service. Great breakfast included the next morning. I wish we had had longer to stay and explore this beautiful town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Huge property, ok stay

Posted Sep 28, 2016
It was a lovely hotel, the one issue i had was there was no air con and it was hot! Otherwise than that it was an old style hotel but very nice and we would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Becky, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback, Hayley. Cambria usually has only a few hot days each year, so almost all of the hotels count on ocean breezes for our "natural air conditioning." We offer fans upon request when available. It's great that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay, and we hope to welcome you again sometime.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McPherson, Kansas

Nice place. Not far from town.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: It was the nicest one in that town.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: close to town.
We really enjoyed our stay. The complementary breakfast was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous setting

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Ha d a. Great stay...great staff, very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax Nova Scotia Canada

Lodge hotel in the woods

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Overall the stay was good. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The supper meal in the restaurant was the highlight of our stay and I recommend anyone staying at the hotel have dinner in the hotel restaurant. The room itself however was dated and had no air conditioning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Becky, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback, Phill and Susan. Our staff works hard to please our guests, and it's great to see that you enjoyed your stay. You may be interested to know that we are updating many of our older rooms, a few at a time, this year and next year. We hope to see you again soon.