Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo

Wonderful hotel near beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location to beach
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great place for peace and quiet. Walks on the beach, sightseeing, shopping nearby
Hotel was fabulous for the price, especially due to its location to the beach. We went during the middle of the week and it was quiet and very peaceful. Much needed after a hectic week. Room was clean and the staff were friendly. They served a nice continental breakfast. Two nice restaurants are within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, CA

Priced Nicely, Scenic Location and Comfortable

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: We stayed indoors frequently during our stay, and the staff at Castle Inn did a few extra things to keep us happy. The beach is right across the way.
Cons: The TV cabinet should be replaced a more practical place for TV, and also has storage drawers and a surface for one's stuff.
Location: Drive to wineries on Hwy 46, visit the elephant seals near San Simeon and enjoy the salmon sandwich at Main Street Grill!
We've stayed at Castle Inn several times due to the pricing, comfortable rooms and the great location across from the beach and boardwalk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Really lovely, basic place to stay

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This hotel was one of the more affordable places to stay along the beach. I grabbed a deal through expedia and ended up extending my stay. The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom however is quite small. Staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, giving me some information about things to see in town... Which is a 20 minute walk away or a quick 5 min drive. The town itself has a lot to see and I would highly recommend going here if you are interested in art and antiques. Be sure to check out the amazing flamenco guitarist every Thursday at La Cambritas Back to the hotel...breakfast is provided between 7.30am-10am, although fairly basic- toast, cereal, muesli and yogurt. Only real problem I had was with the shower...showering late at night was fine, but one day I took a shower late in the afternoon and only had luke warm water and inconsistent water pressure...I also tried using the vending machine and couldn't buy the drink I wanted and lost five cents to the machine. However, overall this was a wonderful place to stay in a wonderful town. If you can find a deal online it is well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Place To Stay

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: We love the location and the price.
Cons: Towels and sheets could be softer.
Location: We love going to the wineries in Paso Robles. We get a sandwich at the Deli in Cambria to take with us. Love Black Cat for dinner.
We have stayed here many times. If you step outside your room, every room has a view of the ocean. Some have views from inside. It's priced well and it's clean. Their towels are scratchy, and it would be nice if their cleaning service made them softer. For the price, the place is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice Hotel. Beautiful area

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I would stay here again. Very pleased, the room we were in was a bit small, but it was clean and the bed was very good, we slept very well, The complementary breakfast was very adequate, more than I would have made myself at home. They had a crock pot of oat meal. Perfect
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach.
Cons: Heating system, too hot with in on and too cold with it off
Location: Close to the beach and a good dinner.
Heaters in the room were old and didn't work very well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atascadero, Ca

Nice hotel across the street from the beach.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Quiet, & close to town & beach
Cons: could get elongated toilets.
Location: Near a trail to walk on beach, A short distance to the center of Cambria. Lots of restraints and small shops. Hurst Castle is nearby.
Had a heated pool and hot tub, but it was a cold rainy day so we didn't use them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Across the street from the ocean and boardwalk.

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to relax and enjoy the ocean views. A lot of whales.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wine tasting and ocean

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice and friendly people working at the front desk and breakfast room. Much improved breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Love the ocean at my door. An hearing it.

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The view.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Food was walking distant. An the town was not far.
Room was clean. Everything was in order. Everyone was very nice.