Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel is on the beach. Lovely view from our room.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The view from this hotel is beautiful
Location: Hearst castle. Walk on the beach, swimming, biking.
Hotel is situated minutes away from Hearst Castle. The hotel is on the beach, beautiful shoreline. Great place for a walk, watching the surf line. Clean rooms, restaurant right across thr parking lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shaftesbury

Close to beach.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Cons: Pleasantness of staff
Location: Hearst Castle. Elephant seals. Start of 20 mile drive along Highway 1 until it becomes impassable
We stayed here for a couple of nights to enable us to visit nearby Hearst Castle - about 5 mintes drive away. Our check-in receptionist was functional rather than friendly, and I found it difficult in the restaurant to persuade an elderly waitress to serve me a beer - twice!! She happily served my wife and despite reminders, could not be bothered to serve me. I walked to the bar where the barman served me. The food in the restaurant was average, both for 1 evening meal and for 2 breakfasts. The breakfasts are not complimentary and it is likely that better could be bought in Cambria fairly close by. The room was reasonable and clean. I would suggest staying at an alternative hotel/motel if possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing..

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great room. Great view. Great service from Alex. Food from restaurant was good too.
4 out of 5
by Cher-Chia

Good, but need to improve room air conditioning

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great, you can have a beautiful sea view in the resort, and it's 5 minutes drive to Hearst Castle. However, there is no air circulation in the room, which makes our stay not so comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hacienda Hts. Ca.

Christmas runaway

Posted Dec 28, 2016
This is a great location, but the staff is less than accomodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great but the wifi was less than satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
I am going to the office and I have a good night of the office right to the office tomorrow night at my desk in the articles on a NAS the best way of life is a good day to day life and I have been working
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, CA

Hotel clean & ocean access.

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Great location
Cons: Mattress & pillows
Location: Boarding, Hearst Castle, Fishing, Whale Watching, Scenic Drive, Hiking
Hotel & room was very clean; amenities were great. Restaurant food was excellent, pricing is what I would expect for a tourist destination. Beach is easy walking distance, nice sandy beach, waves are good for surfing/boarding if you want. Room was clean & ready for early check in when we arrived without calling prior to arrival. Shower had good water pressure & good shower head. Only thing I did not like was the bed was firm/hard, pillows were horrible, I did not sleep well both nights and had horrible headache and backaches. This was our first trip to San Simeon, seeing all the hotels available, I think we picked a winner. I would stay here again and bring my own pillows.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Stop over to visit Hearst Castle

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Good 1 night stay to visit Hearst Castle. No air-con was not a problem for us, as we traveled in Nov. We came from Singapore where we always sleeps with air-con all the time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Our Stay

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Cons: Everything above.
There was a broken cabinet wall in bathroom that exposed the piping, there was a lock on the fridge that was full of items to buy so we couldn't use the fridge, there was no microwave. There was a second room that had no tv so all 6 of us sat on two beds, rather than 3, to watch tv. There was no continental breakfast included. We will NEVER stay there again. Not happy at all.