Ratings based on 1,335 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Covina

Cheap Rate, Cheap Room

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: The location!! and The bed was comfortable and warm.
Cons: Update the furniture and the shower water flow.
Location: Location was great!! Hearst Castle and beach so close by.
I did not like the water flow in the shower. The room was okay. I got what I paid for. A cheap room for a cheap rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Location, location, location

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: The location was within minutes to all the local points of interest. Could not have been easier to get around to everything we wanted to do.
Location: Hearst Castle, elephant seal viewing point, Moonstone beach, lighthouse, beaches, restaurant.
We had a 3 bed suite which worked great for our family, was clean, and very reasonably priced. There is an indoor pool but we didn't have time to use it. The LOCATION of the hotel was the biggest benefit for sight seeing on beach, Hearst Castle, and viewing the elephant seals and lighthouse in the area. Such easy access to everything and there is a restaurant you can walk to almost next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient if your visiting Hearst Castle

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Not the very comfortable bed, flat pillows and only two per bed. Close to Hearst Castle and close to the beach, with a small liquor store next door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso

Not good for long stay

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pricy for a transition stay because highway 1 is not accessible to San Francisco and other part of coast scenic drive.moreover, the condition of the motel is not comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Dec 5, 2017
It's a nice place for the price. It's comfortable and clean enough. Good location and not too crowded.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pismo beach, ca

You get what you pay for

Posted Dec 2, 2017
First room I was put in had a broken heater that would make a very loud noise every two minutes and not put any heat out. WiFi passcode was not written out properly on information sheet and I could not login. After unloading all my clothes, I was changed to a different room and I found out the Wi-Fi code from the office manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic room for basic price!

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Definitely a one night stay! Cheap price - cheap stay! Good enough for the guys but won't bring the wife again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Clean and comfortable enough. Nice staff. Met my needs well for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from livermore, ca 94550

can't beat the price; has pluses an minuses

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Large room, good heating/cooling unit
Cons: Needs a better bed
Location: Hearst Castle; Ocean
The price was fantastic! I liked that the room was really large, so I had plenty of room for stretching/yoga. I was excited that there was a tub -- not just a shower. Unf, the tub wouldn't hold water. Oh well, lots of upscale hotels don't have tubs. The heating/cooling unit appeared new and worked very well. The bed was sort of soft and worn -- two minus stars there. There was a small fridge but no microwave. There was a flatscreen TV (great) that was unwatchable. Um, how do you get a blurred picture on a digital TV? Fort. I had a tablet and phone, so the TV wasn't much of an issue (especially since I mostly watch netflix, youtube, etc.) Bottom line, would I stay there again? Yes, if I could get the room for the price I paid. But I'd bring my own sleeping pad and sleep on the floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mennifee ca

Very close to beach great

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Great accomidations for handicap. Great swimming pool. Very pet friendly.