Ratings based on 1,524 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
EXCELLENT Customer service, Clean and spacious rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice Hotel close to Hearst Castle

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Cons: The spa and grounds could have been cleaned up and better maintained.
Overall experience was good. The hotel was decent and there were no problems when we asked for a room with an "ocean view." Staff was pleseant and the rooms were both huge and clean. We visited Hearst Castle, which is definitely worth the cost! And make sure to see the Elephant Seals just 4ish miles up the road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno CA

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The staff was very helpful. The breakfast could use some help. They only have oatmeal toast and yogurt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok place to stay for 1night. Breakfast not so good

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Beautiful location. Hotel getting a little old and outdated. Still a decent nights lodging.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not ideal

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Requested roll in shower since my friend is paralyzed. Gave us room w tub and he also could not get under the sink. I called front desk and was told there were no rooms available w roll in shower. I called back and asked for manager. The front desk girl called me back and said I can pick up the keys to the room w roll in shower. The new room had two beds and so close together the wheelchair could not fit between the two beds. The breakfast was very limited. The place was not ideal and not being told the truth by the front desk girl left a bad taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

A great place to stay in San Simeon

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Cons: The gas fireplace didn't work. Replace the shower curtain with a glass door; the bathroom floor got flooded easily; we had to use towels to soak it up
Location: Hearst Castle Seal Sanctuary
My daughter and I arrived late in the evening, and when we checked in, we were going to get a room on the 2nd floor. I told the gentleman (at the check-in counter) that I was tired and didn't want to lug my suitcases up a flight of stairs, so he gave us a room on the first floor which had a king size bed, sofa, fridge and microwave and a decorative fireplace! It was a very nice and comfortable room. The hotel is next to a restaurant, The Big Sur, but we checked out early the next day (to go to Hearst Castle) and didn't get to take advantage of our Restaurant.com coupon. The continental breakfast was adequate with cold and hot cereal (oatmeal), toast, juice, fruit (apples), and yogurt. We would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Dirty

Posted Jul 10, 2017
What else can I say It's old but just clean up U can have old carpet and furnishings but when u don't even take the time to clean the ceiling fan or behind the nightstand bad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not as close to the seaside view as publicized.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Very basic. Refrigerator didn't work. Seaside view was past tops of buildings and across freeway. All hotels here were side by side.
4 out of 5
by Kam Chuen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels