Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our first getaway

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Very clean
Location: Heart Castle and the scenic drive along the coast.
This was the first time me and my new boyfriend of 3 months got away and the hotel was the perfect scenery for it. Comfortable, sexy shower. LOL Only thing it was right by the highway and the person downstairs had his TV on to drown out the highway noise, but we were to tired after our 5 hours drive to worry. Clean room NICE.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Close to San Simeon

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Its location
Cons: Hotel facilities such as bar and availability of food.
Location: Walking distance to some nice restaurants in Cambria, short drive to the Hearst Mansion in San Simeon and the Elephant Seal rookery at Piedras Blancas
A good hotel in a great location if you're planning to visit the Hearst Mansion. The village of Cambria is just across the road and fortunately has a few nice restaurants because the food at the hotel is limited to bar snacks. We got a ground floor room with a view of dirt and bushes. We were only there one night so didn't have the opportunity to check out the Spa facilities. It was expensive for what it was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understaffed and overpriced

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Fireplace in the room
Cons: Wifi reception, sound insulation between rooms, better and more staffing, lower prices.
My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights and the total charge was just over $660. The hotel itself is basically fine -- clean, in a good location. The walls are very thin, we could hear everything from the room above us easily. The wifi reception is terrible and we had no cellular coverage (T-Mobile or Sprint). I understand the phone coverage, but wifi should be easy to get right. When we arrived, the receptionist checked us but she was not hospitable at all. Just the basics, here's your room key. The front desk was unstaffed about 80% of the time we tried to stop by. The toilet stopped up, and when we called the front desk we had to call several times to get anyone. They indicated that there was one room available that night so maybe we could use that bathroom (?!?!?!?!) but that the maintenance man was on break and would be available in 30 mins. They also insinuated that maybe we should find a plunger and fix it ourselves -- not sure where we would find one in the first place, but for over $300 a night I'd expect more. About 40 minutes later a maintenance guy showed up and plunged the toilet. The hotel has no restaurant, though they do have a very minimalist cafe that serves microwaved food. They list "steel cut oats" on their menu, which we both love. We ordered this and then were told they only had one packet of oatmeal left, which was just quaker instant oatmeal (and is terrible if you actually like oatmeal). Really not good at al
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay near Hearst Castle

Posted May 4, 2016
Location: Within 10 minutes to Hearst Castle
Great hotel in wonderful location. Candiace was a sweet hostess and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. Sea Chest restaurant down the street was fantastic and a great recommendation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but lacks amenities for the $$$

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly and it is in a good location: right off Hwy 1, near the beach, and walking distance to downtown.
Cons: Amenities are very poor. Useless wi-fi, no cell service, over-priced breakfast, "wine tasting room" should be a separate room - not the lobby itself.
Location: Moonstone Beach is minutes away, downtown is walking distance, it is right off Hwy-1, Hearst Castle is 10 mins away, Morro Bay is 25 mins away.
Good location - close to beach and walking distance to downtown. But, the wi-fi is useless (the service/signal is non-existent) and there is basically no cell phone service. Compared to other hotels in the area, this is on the higher end of cost and it is very disappointing that for the money we spent to stay here, we couldn't use wi-fi, we couldn't call or text from our own cell phones, breakfast is not included and it is a limited menu served at the "Wine Bar/Wine Tasting Room" in the lobby and is very expensive (ex: a bagel is $9.00). When we checked in, the front desk agent implied that breakfast was included so that was what we thought. Thus, it was disappointing to find out in the morning that it wasn't. Better to walk across the street to downtown and eat at a yummy cafe or bakery! Also only a few of the rooms have refrigerators (which you won't find out until you are already in your room and open the fridge cabinet under the room sink to find it empty).. The staff is friendly, but that is on the bottom of our list for what we expect to get with our money. Visually, this hotel is not nearly as luxurious as the website photos make it out to be. And FYI: the "wine bar" or "wine tasting room" they mention on the website...yeah, that would be the sitting area in the lobby. All-in-all it was a disappointment all-around. The other nearby hotels and inns are all along Moonstone Beach and for the same price (or even more affordable!) you get so much more for your buck.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

False advertising

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Hotel had no wifi and no free breakfast (as advertised), hair on bed sheets, aloof desk clerk and no beach view (as advertised).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to the beach

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Location to the beach and the quaint village of Cambria. What a cool place.
Cons: Refrigerator in room. Landscaping out behind hotel would improve view for some guests.
Location: Just a few steps to Moonstone beach and right around the corner from Main street downtown Cambria.
Easy to find and convenient to the beach via boardwalk that goes the distance (more than a mile and a half). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice rooms with both a walk in shower and spa bathtub. Fireplace in the room that really did the trick. View was lacking. We also would have liked a refrigerator. Overall, a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Quaint and quiet but bring your own TP

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Location was great. Walk to Main Street. Walk to the beach area. Quiet.
Cons: See comment above
Location: See above
The hotel is really cute. The room was quite nice and I like the fireplace. The bath was open to the sleeping area which it a nice touch but should have shutters in case you want privacy. I would definitely come back but next time, I will bring my own toilet paper! My goodness, what were they thinking? It's like the really rough thin ratty paper that they used to have in the school bathrooms when I was younger. Ummm not acceptable for such a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Coast road trip

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: location, staff, fireplace & Jacuzzi tub in the room
Cons: Breakfast - more options would be nice. Expedia pricing for Australian customers is in excess of the equivalent for US customers in USD.
Location: Walking path to beach, quaint town.
Good location, nice helpful and friendly staff. Upgraded us to a spa room with Jacuzzi tub - really lovely! Can't thank you enough, it made our 1 night stay even more enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2016
my wife and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel was quite, updated and clean. Walking distance to the beach. Also close to shops, restaurants and Hearst Castle we would stay here again.