Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

One of my favorite hotels

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Loved the hotel! Was only planning on staying one night, but didn't want to leave. Staff was amazing, went over and above to accommodate. Can't wait to stay there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel but..

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Improve your water pressure in the shower. The water was way too weak.
Location: Walking distance to the beach, and to downtown.
Our room was comfortable and spacious but the problem was we could hear everything as we were on the first floor and near the front desk. We were told the rooms are isolated from the sound but that was not the case so we were woken up a few times throughout the night. Also, the mattress was way too soft and we both woke up with a little back pain. There is also no ocean view from our room like we were promised from Expedia. Also the shower pressure was very weak so it took a little longer to actually rinse off. Overall, lovely staff, nice jacuzzi, cute hotel, nicely decorated, clean rooms, great location near downtown Cambria, and walking distance to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phx. AZ

Great staff & beautiful room!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We loved the hotel wish we could have stayed longer! The only thing missing was an ocean view from our room but everything else was incredible. Starting with the freshly baked cookies at check in, to the lovely fireplace, the cozy bathrobes were a pleasant surprise too. We had the hot tub all to ourselves, the facilities were on the smaller side but nice nonetheless. They gave us coupons for a glass of the local wine, we don't drink so we didn't use them but it was a fantastic welcoming gesture. You can't go wrong in selecting this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
thanks so much for writing and staying with us. Journey safe Cathy GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall is fantastic

Posted Jun 25, 2017
We check in around 1030pm and next day we requested for 1hr late check out but was turn down. This is really disappointing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by cathy/gm, Hotel Management
Thanks for your excellent rating! My apologies we could not extend a late checkout. Please come see us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central valley,ca

Nice room/great staff

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The staff and the comfort of the hotel.
Location: It is across the highway from the town of Cambria and just a short distance from the boardwalk so you can walk to view the ocean.
The hotel room was very comfortable and clean. It was quiet and close to down. There was no view but we could hear the ocean. The staff was exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
thanks so much for staying! Come back soon! Cathy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jun 23, 2017
I had already send you my previous review and what I got is a call from the manager of the Hotel all upset because my review, I tried to expressed why I gave her that negative review and what I got was an angry person that hung up on me while I was talking then sent me a text with a ridiculous excuse that we had a bad conection and Have a good trip. If my review will bring an angry manager calling me again please don't let her know about me just leave it anonymous. I don't think was professional from Expedia to let her call me just to yelled at me with her angry tone of voice and offend me hanging the phone while I was talking please don't do this again. I don't need the aggravation Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you. My communication was warm and sincere, very heartfelt and never angry. Please be blessed and enjoy 2017 Cathy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Nice hotel along Rt 1

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area and other PCH attractions. Also provided great advice regarding the Rt 1 road closures.
Location: Short walk to the beach via a relaxing nature trail boardwalk. 8 miles to the Hearst Castle 14 miles to the Elephant Seal viewing area
Nice hotel in quiet location. Pleasant alternative to the hustle, bustle, and congestion of large California cities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within a board walk to the beach.

Posted May 8, 2017
Very clean and well kept. On the right side of PCH. Very cozy and a perfect romantic weekend getaway for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Cathy, Hotel Management
THANK YOU for enjoying our clean hotel and grounds and for staying as our guest! Appreciate you selecting The El Colibri as well as the time you took to share your experience. Enjoy 2017 and come see us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
The air conditioning wasn't working well. It was more of a fan, circulating the air, than cooling down the room. I called for maintenance regarding the a/c, thinking I wasn't using the remote for the a/c correctly, but that wasn't the case. The room was stuffy and too warm to sleep comfortably.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the El Colibri Hotel and for sharing your stay. I do hope that other than the A/C inconvenience you enjoyed the hotel and guestroom amenities as well as the lovely location and Cambria area. Our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Please come see us again! Cathy GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Quite, nice rooms, good staff, good location to start your day tripping along the central CA coast. Found some great eats nearby.
Cons: Find the space and create a convenience mart area... Snacks, drinks and some basic necessities. Also, a few more selections for breakfast.
Location: Seals, castle, coast, downtown... Close to Cayucos, Morro Bay, Pismo Beach. Recommend The Galley in Morro Bay & Ventana in Pismo for nice dinners.
Hotel rooms are very nice and the staff is great. Location is close to downtown Cambria, which is a great little town to shop, eat and walk around. Beach is also a short walk away, so good launching point for day trips, etc. We went to see the Elephant Seals, fantastic... Found an outdoor Mexican restaurant on way back to hotel along Hwy-1 and sat outside where we could see ocean, etc... Fish, shrimp and chicken tacos were incredible. We also went to Morro Bay & Pismo Beach, but skipped Hearst Castle (been b4). Wonderful 3 day vaca. Now the negatives... The refrigerator had the previous guests old food and drinks in it when we arrived... That made me uneasy as to what I would find next, but to the credit of the hotel, all else was clean and this was an anomaly. The bed is really soft and we are used to Temperpedic, so not too comfortable. The pillows are the ones that mush down to nothing, so bring your own. Also, food selection is very limited at hotel and when I asked if they had some snacks, they directed me to the Shell station across Hwy 1... Not convenient. Overall the stay was relatively quiet and peaceful... The hotel is just a step away from what we are used to in convenience, food, and comfort... But, as we've gotten older and saved a couple of pennies, we are getting a bit snobby with regards to the amenities offered... On the 5 star scale, probably a 3-3.5, with Ritz Carlton at 5 stars, Hyatt Regency at 4 stars, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Cathy, Hotel Management
What a wonderful detailed review with some graciousness added via your construction and so valuable feedback! We appreciate you as our guests and invite you back in the future! Cathy GM