Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Quite, nice rooms, good staff, good location to start your day tripping along the central CA coast. Found some great eats nearby.
Cons: Find the space and create a convenience mart area... Snacks, drinks and some basic necessities. Also, a few more selections for breakfast.
Location: Seals, castle, coast, downtown... Close to Cayucos, Morro Bay, Pismo Beach. Recommend The Galley in Morro Bay & Ventana in Pismo for nice dinners.
Hotel rooms are very nice and the staff is great. Location is close to downtown Cambria, which is a great little town to shop, eat and walk around. Beach is also a short walk away, so good launching point for day trips, etc. We went to see the Elephant Seals, fantastic... Found an outdoor Mexican restaurant on way back to hotel along Hwy-1 and sat outside where we could see ocean, etc... Fish, shrimp and chicken tacos were incredible. We also went to Morro Bay & Pismo Beach, but skipped Hearst Castle (been b4). Wonderful 3 day vaca. Now the negatives... The refrigerator had the previous guests old food and drinks in it when we arrived... That made me uneasy as to what I would find next, but to the credit of the hotel, all else was clean and this was an anomaly. The bed is really soft and we are used to Temperpedic, so not too comfortable. The pillows are the ones that mush down to nothing, so bring your own. Also, food selection is very limited at hotel and when I asked if they had some snacks, they directed me to the Shell station across Hwy 1... Not convenient. Overall the stay was relatively quiet and peaceful... The hotel is just a step away from what we are used to in convenience, food, and comfort... But, as we've gotten older and saved a couple of pennies, we are getting a bit snobby with regards to the amenities offered... On the 5 star scale, probably a 3-3.5, with Ritz Carlton at 5 stars, Hyatt Regency at 4 stars, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and very comfortable

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great people, all new and clean. Close to beach And restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

this hotel was great!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
this hotel was just a few minutes from Cambria and a walking distance from the beach. the room was very spacious and perfect for children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Upscale rooms.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Very comfy beds and well appointed rooms w stone and marble and wood. Clean and upscale. Some staff esp were very professional and helpful. Only issue was slow and less than professional service at the restaurant/bar cafe. The management said they will have changes coming there. I want to go back. You can walk to the boardwalk and beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Beautiful hotel next to Moonstone Beach

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Nature all around! Moonstone beach walk starts right here. Easy access to town, Fiscalini ranch and the gorgeous ocean bluff walks. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Helpful with suggestions on wine tours in Paso. Nice touches with fruit infused water always available in the lobby and fresh apples, kurig in rooms. Rooms are comfortably sized and offer a couch for lounging. Reduced rating for high level of hallway and door closing noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and stay and wonderful comments on hotel, staff and locational amenities!! Come see us again! Cathy GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great amenities close to moonstone beach

Posted Apr 14, 2017
My husband and I have stayed at the former Mariners Inn, which was right on the beach. Even though this hotel was not on prime real estate, it was only a few minutes from the beach and you could walk there in about a 20 minute stroll. Plenty of parking in the underground garage, a beautiful entrance, and nice lobby made us really excited right away after a long drive from L.A. The owner was very cordial and check in was quick. There are only 2 floors and our room was on the 1st floor. The large tub with spa jets was wonderful, as well as the large shower with glass door and stone tiling. I felt like I had a mini spa in my room! The windows open up with a view of the back with foliage with a porch sliding door and screen, but it's not a balcony. I didn't care, and we loved how we could get plenty of fresh sea breeze whenever we like. Mini fridge, flat screen tv and robes were provided. We were very comfortable. The staff were more than happy to suggest restaurants for dinner and give us a directory to look over. On the last day we checked out the jaccuzi on the roof, and there were restrooms and sauna available before you walked out to the Jacuzzi. Plenty of folded towels were available. We never got a massage but it looks as if you could use the jaccuzi beforehand and use the sauna. You could also rent beach cruisers to bike around from front desk. We had a very nice and quiet stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. We are definitely coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
What a super review to enjoy and read. Thank you so much for the delightful detail about your fine stay and trip! Please come see us again and enjoy 2017! Cathy GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Awesome experience Awesome service and personnel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
PERFECT, YEAH!! Thank you for staying as our guests and taking time to share. Come Back! Enjoy 2017 Cathy GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and nice rooms - avoid jet tub room

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Doesn't have the ocean view like the motels on the strip, but then again, isn't a motel. Complimentary glass of wine that they give you vouchers for and cookies at reception. Comfortable room and they have beach cruisers that you can rent. Very short walk to beach and boardwalk. Only problem was with the fact that we were on the first floor of the hotel, and there was a jet tub room just above us. The guests above us decided they were going to fill their tub real late at night, and for the 20 minutes that it took for the tub to fill up, the plumbing in our room sounded like a train was coming through! In the morning we were given complimentary breakfast because of the fiasco. Also, although the wellness center had a nice outdoor jacuzzi and view of the stars, the steam room was crazy noisy - take earplugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to be our guest! Come see us again! XCathy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Very impressive!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Although not on the beach, El Colibri makes up for it with a beautiful room, a view to a greenbelt, a jacuzzi tub, and a romantic fireplace. The room was clean, comfortable, and perfectly lovely. We were always greeted when arriving back to the hotel and the staff was excellent with referrals and information about Cambria. Wish we had known about the complimentary glass of wine, but we still thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the compliments for our team and for staying as our guests. Please ask for me when you return for an extra glass of local wine! Cathy GM Enjoy 2017!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, California

Comfortable, clean, and conveniently located.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Location: Walking distance to Main Street.
Feels like upscale boutique hotel. Guest room was expansive and clean. No view to speak of except for trees, but not important for my stay. Convenient indoor parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by cathy, Hotel Management
Super review and thank you so much for being our guest and taking time to share your experience! Please come back soon and enjoy 2017! Cathy