Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but not great

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The location of the hotel is great. Directly across the street from the tide pools. Unless you have the end room, your patio will open onto the parking lot. The entire place needs an update. The hallways are dingy. The pool area is very average (view of the freeway). The place is fine but not great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena,Ca

Beautiful location but that's all.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Almost all.
Location: Location is great. Right across the street from the boardwalk.
My friend from New Jersey was visiting and we were going to Hearst Castle to make her visit extra special for the holiday season.We had planned on staying at Fireside Inn for two nights but were disappointed in the place. When we checked in and directed to our room,we had to walk on water soaked cardboard and towels to get there. A broken pipe the problem.Dingy halls. Our room was spacious but outdated.Lampshade torn,a wall heater that gave off almost no heat and a fireplace that didn't give off any. She had to put on her ski jacket to warm up. For the luxury price it should have been a much better accommodation. Breakfast is so so. Did not like the staff handling the bread with bare hands. Where are the gloves?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice hotel right across the beach.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Spacious room and very relaxing atmosphere with cozy fireplace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ojai, CA

We'll be back!

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Comfortable bed.....good breakfast.....loved the fireplace.....very clean.....had a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful rooms and views

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Would stay again. Loved the location and patios. The breakfast was fine, the coffee tasted burnt. My only suggestion is replace toilet paper and tissues with better quality. Public restrooms have better quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Almost impossible to have a bad stay on Moonstone

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: roooms, views, free breakfast
Location: The location is beautiful, points of interest are Hearst Castle and Piedras Blancas lighthouse
Fireside Inn has always been a lovely and comfortable place to stay in Cambria. The rooms are clean and very cozy. If you can, try and stay in an ocean front room, the view is breathtaking. Fireside will always be destination of ours when traveling up north,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PEOPLE MAKE THE DIFFRENECE

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Quit, nice, across from beach, good breakfast overall A+
We reserved WRONG night... Spoke to Cal from Exped
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana.

Super location with Board Walk across the street.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Gas fireplace clean efficient plus good wall electric heater. Large clean room with nice window. Plenty of parking. Walk 20 feet across the street on best part of Board walk and wild ocean plus many small parks with benches for rest or dog walk. Beautiful Monterey? Pines along the country road. Full breakfast. Friendly staff. Cozy living room with computer access and fireplace. Decent prices. Dog friendly. Fridg in room- NO microwave - coffee in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great until the end

Posted Nov 21, 2016
after we left the Fireside Inn we were charged an additional fee for upgrading our room. Before we left we disputed that charge since were never informed of any charge when they changed our room. They said that they would look into it first but the charge was made right after we left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach, United States of America

Great Place

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness.
Clean, quiet, comfortable. Everything was perfect.