Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Breathtaking Views

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, spacious..we loved that it had a table with chairs. We enjoyed the balcony thru-out the day..starting at daybreak with hot coffee in hand, ending at dusk, bundled up and cozy.
Cons: The bed was too firm and under your sheet was a rubber stretch on mat..(not nice, created wrinkles and heat) once i removed that and the heavy comforter and re-made the bed with just sheets and the one blanket..we slept much better the second night. Biggest disappointment was the bathroom...water pressure TERRIBLE.....they want to save on water but the only bathtub is a HUGE jetted tub that I could not use to relax and read..so, the bathroom was all show and no pleasure. Dull lighting in the bathroom as well,unless you wanted the fan loudly blowing. We would have preferred some kind of small partition between US and the neighbors on our patio....perhaps just a half wall of some sort..(even a dense wood trellis).higher than what is there..so, it would feel more intimate on our own patio...not like we were sharing.
Location: Great Dinner & drinks at Moonstone Grill and Bar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A romantic retreat for unforgettable memories.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Private with beach views for beautiful sunrises and sunsets.
Cons: More staff and check in and checkouts, key times that set the tone of the stay.
Location: Located close to Hearst's Castle and the charming downtown of Cambria. West End Bar & Grille was the best place to watch the the World Series end.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perrfect location and great view!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Great location! Boardwalk was right across street for long walks, watching the sunrise, and sunset. Main Street for shopping and eating was only about 2 miles away. In room fireplace was a plus!
Cons: It was nice that they provided free breakfast but choices were limited.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from From Santa Clarita, CA

Moonstone Landing is one of our favorite places!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: All of the above things....
Cons: When we had a room on the lower level the noise was a bit bothersome early and late in the day. A few more washcloths would be nice to fresher up...
Location: The boardwalk along the beach areas was really nice and we really enjoyed that little town and the beautiful scenery....We love the ScareCrow scenes!
Our room was clean and comfortable with nice views of ocean across the way and we enjoyed whale watching during our stay there very much....This was our 3rd time there and it has always been a nice place to stay with very nice breakfast offerings in the morning which we liked a lot....Pastries, Rolls, toast, yogurt, eggs, fruit and hot coffee and tea or cocoa too..... The people working there are very nice and go out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. We liked that it is near the little town of Cambria with small shops and antique places that are fun to browse. Good restaurants are easy to fine in town and nearby the hotel. Thanks to the staff for making our visit so enjoyable....We will be back!!! Mary and Bill S.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beachfront Happiness

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The complimentary breakfast in the morning was delightful. Fresh assorted pastries was a welcome treat, along with other items to get you on your way
Cons: Was surprised there was no air conditioning, but evidently this is common. It happened to be an exceptionally hot day.
Location: Great location about half way from LA to SFO and 5 min. from Hearst Castle. Lovely beach and great restaurant next door.
Very nice small hotel just across the street from the ocean. Very comfortable room with fireplace and ability to open the windows for the fresh sea air. No air-conditioning and it was warm, but with window open and small fan it was very comfortable. Nice boardwalk path just across the street and steps leading down to the beach. Very beautiful location. Excellent restaurant (The Sea Chest) right next door - high recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Had a great time. The staff was so friendly. Very clean!!! Bed was a little mushy but everyone has different preferences.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Really great place to stay in Cambria.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Oceanfront rooms a treat. Very comfortable beds and linens. Rooms are spacious and well equipped.
Cons: When booking I expected the picture of a corner room to reflect what we had. We did not get a corner although room was still very good.
Location: Just walking around and relaxing...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montevideo

Excellent hotel in front of the beach.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Everything was awesome.
Cons: NA
Location: We were just one night, but the location is superb! Beach is crossing the street, so everything is said.
Excellent exerience, I would definetely come back!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience. Will definitely be going back!!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Room was really nice, bed was comfy and had a good partial view of the beach! Love that the beach is literally across the street!
Cons: The only down side is there is no a.c. but they do provide you with a fan.
Great hotel by the beach! Is a little pricey but it totally worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right across the street from beach.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Must go to Sea Chest Restaurant next to hotel. Hotel staff was very helpful of telling us places to go and see