Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Very clean. Close to beach.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The hotel is on a quiet street along the beach with a nice restaurant nearby. The room we had was spotless and comfortable with a nice fireplace. Would definitely go back and stay longer. This is a great location if you are seeing Hearst Castle, the elephant seals and other local attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: The room was nice, clean and roomy.
Cons: A little bit more of a variety for breakfast.
We had a pleasant stay in Cambria. We ate at two different diners and they were both good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the quality of your room. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Overlooking Pacific Ocean

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Walking distance to the boardwalk and right beside Sea Quest Restaurant.A must try experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Our guests love strolling on the boardwalk across the street as well as the Sea Chest restaurant directly next door. Thank you for choosing us as your destination.!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Small hotel right across the street from the beach! Rooms were lovely and clean and staff was very kind and helpful! But cannot beat walking out in the morning and having the ocean in front of you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We're delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay! Sincerely, Moonstone Landing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Wonderful location. Will definitely be back. Liked everything about the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous location, horrible bed

Posted May 17, 2017
There's things that are terrific about this hotel - location being the primary one. It faces Moonstone Beach and the view is stunning. The rooms are large and the décor is pleasing. There was a nice sitting area in the one we had with a partial view of the ocean and they have a frig and microwave in the room. The real disappointment came with the bed. It was like sleeping on a board. It was so hard there was no support for the low back if sleeping on your back. When sleeping on my side I woke in the middle of the night with my shoulder and arm numb. No matter how nice staff are, no matter how well maintained the facility is - and this is well maintained - if you can't get the basics right i.e. a comfortable bed, then you missed the mark. If you like rock hard beds then this is the place for you, otherwise find someplace else.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are terribly sorry to hear about your discomfort with the mattress. We truly hope you alerted our Front Desk staff in order for us to correct the situation. We take great measures to be diligent about maintaining every aspect of the property to insure everything is in the best of condition, while striving to provide the most enjoyable and relaxing stay for all of our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a more memorable experience. Sincerely, Moonstone Landing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Mary at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. All the staff aim to please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Weather was cold in early May, but the hotel was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
I enjoyed staying here but low water pressure in shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura County

A great location, very nice accommodations.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms with wood floor and a fireplace. Great location near bluff and next to a great restaurant. Very friendly office personnel.
Cons: Shower pressure: change the nozzle, now that the drought is over.
Location: Downtown Cambria is two minutes away, the beach and bluff trail is just across the street. The elephant seals and Hearst Castle are ten minutes away.
This lodge is located perfectly on Moonstone Drive, which made for convenient access to the bluff and beach for a sunset walk. The rooms are very nice, especially with the fireplace. We had a partial view of the ocean, which is fine for the price. The office managers are very friendly and polite. The bed was very comfortable. The shower could do with more pressure, but I guess that is the price of water conservation. The continental breakfast was unremarkable, but very adequate, and the coffee was great. The lobby, where breakfast was served, became a social spot for starting up conversations with other guests, sharing our travel experiences. We felt it was perfect for our needs.