Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Last minute escape to the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Last minute escape from the SJV heat; excellent seafood dinner at Seachest restaurant - get there by 5 pm if you want to get seated when the door opens at 5:30; B&B nice; bathroom separate from bedroom and walls were thin (someone next door snoring loudly); hosts were very pleasant and helpful, room was clean and breakfast was delicious. Decor might stand some updating. Great location to walk to enjoy Cambria shopping. Probably a 3 Star venue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a few things to gain a star

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The building, the grounds, the staff.
Cons: Breakfast. Wifi.
Location: Convenient to everything, easy to park. Nice.
The building is very nicely maintained, the grounds are lovely, too. Staff is very friendly. It's just a few things that would have helped (if possible) to make my stay more enjoyable. Wifi didn't work... wrong password first, and ultimately the staff couldn't resolve it. So don't trust it if you need it. My downstairs room was noisy, creaking floorboards overhead, 6:30 trash pick up on Monday morning woke me up, since my room faced the street. My "private" bath was down the hall and next to the public dining area, so I had to walk past the breakfast table to go to the bathroom, which I had to lock so no other patrons would use my "private" bath. No real heat in the room, and the plug in fireplace was not useful, nor could I see it while laying in such a high bed. Breakfast was unique but not delicious. Happy hour was lovely, perfect. Location was convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCalif

Lovely coastal B&B

Posted Jul 14, 2016
First time staying in Cambria and this was a perfect place to stop on our way up north. The grounds are peaceful, the room clean & homey, warm & welcoming. We stayed in the Sunrise Room & we had a quiet and restful evening. Walked around the little town however many places were closed for dinner. The bed was comfortable. No TV in the room which was nice for a change. We chose 9:15 for breakfast. Met the chef & the owners & we had a delicious meal & conversation with the other guests. What a wonderful, lovely, relaxing stay. Thank you for your hospitality...would stay here again in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barnegat, NJ

Great B&B in the center of Cambria, CA

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Hearst Castle, a walk through town and the elephant seals along the coast.
We arrived later in the afternoon and the owner, Maureen, greeted us. She immediately welcomed us and told us we were just in time for the wine and cheese get together in the garden. Maureen asked us about our preferred breakfast time for the next morning and dinner reservations for that evening...we asked for dinner suggestions. She made a reservation for us at Madeline's which is one of her favorite restaurants. The restaurant was excellent, as was the wine, cheese and accommodations. We had a full breakfast in the morning, complete with homemade blueberry muffins. It was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend the Olallieberry in Cambria, CA (right near Hearst Castle).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

If you like B&B, this is the place for you.

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Hospitality!!!
Cons: Fix the dresser door in Santa Rosa room and add a chair.
Location: Avoid the Sow's Ear restaurant.
This was typical B&B - old house, old decor, odd features. Bathroom down the hallway, sloping floor, dresser door that refused to close. But it was very neat and clean and friendly. The staff goes out of their way to please you - afternoon wine and treats on the patio, home made breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: They accommodate different diets very graciously. Well located.
Cons: My bathroom was not cleaned 2nd day of our stay. Nd Better ventilation. One fan upstairs not enough. Too hot. I want to choose where to sit at bfast
Location: Liked ease of getting to shops, dining.
The owners were very friendly and helpful. Back deck nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute bed & breakfast

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Nice b&b, loved the back patio & gardens. Friendly staff, comfy bed & amazing breakfast. Enjoyed walking to the shops & restaurants. Drove just a few miles to the beach & boardwalk. Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by Maria

Lovely bed and breakfast

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
Charming hotel with great hospitality and fantastic, homemade breakfast. Free wine and snacks from17:00-18:00 on the back veranda in their lovely garden. Walking distance to cafes, restaurants and shops.
4 out of 5
by Cynthia from Vacaville

Pleasant stay

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice B&B with friendly staff. Nicely decorated and good breakfast. unfortunately there was a lot of noise from above and from the front door. A different room may have been quieter. Also the hot and cold water in the shower kept switching by itself which made for frequent adjustments with waste of water. Since they are worried about water usage they need to look into this problem.
4 out of 5
by Hazel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels