Ratings based on 1,033 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west chester, pa

Posted May 29, 2017
Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, great breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The interior of the hotel could use a paint job.
Location: Hearst Castle. Beach. Ocean. these are nearby and very popular.
The hotel is located near beach and restaurants. No elevators. No air conditioning in our building. Staff was accommodating and friendly. Buffet breakfast included in room price. Food was abundant but average. The area is beautiful and pristine. The hotel is about 5 miles from Hearst Castle. There are many other hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute, clean hotel.

Posted May 15, 2017
I had a room with a partial view. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and pillow had a nice freshly laundered smell. The room was clean and comfy with a fridge and microwave. However, my screen door didn't have a lock so I couldn't keep the sliding door open at night to hear the ocean and get the fresh air. Also, too much light came in the room from the balcony and parking lot, even with the shades drawn so I awoke often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

Pleasant stay

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: It was small, cute and quite. The staff was very nice.
Cons: I would like to see hand rails in the showers and possibly a TV in the seating area by the fireplace.
Location: I visited Hearst Castle, Cambria and the elephant seals.
I enjoyed my stay. I loved the view and I liked that it was small and cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern California

Nice hotel across from the ocean

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Good location. Fireplace is a nice feature.
Cons: Parking could be increased.
Location: Not much nearby if it is too cold for the beach. Only one restaurant within walking distance and it closes between lunch and dinner.
Only stayed one night. It was comfortable and a good place for a break during the drive home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The location, the comfortable bed and the breakfast!
Cons: Maybe the receptionist was overworked but she could have been friendlier and more helpful!
Location: Walks on the beach, visiting charming Cambria, shopping. P.S. This is the second time in the last six months that I stayed at Moonstone Beach Drive.
Room was not ready at 3 PM. Receptionist was not overly friendly and recommended a restaurant in the vicinity while waiting. Hotel was closed from 3:00 to 5:00 PM!!!!!!! Breakfast was lovely. However I was unable to get into the driver's seat of my car without staff holding the door since an inconsiderate "guest" had parked in the No Parking Space next to the Handicapped parking. Also I am wondering why a $25.00 charge appeared on my credit card even though the room was prepaid!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location by the water. Great for walking

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Location by the water and good restaurants nearby.
Cons: Updating of bathroom and rooms
Location: Walking, restaurants, Hearst castle.
Very nice breakfast! Cozy fireplace in the room. The staff is friendly and accommodating. It is so nice to be right across from the water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno,ca

Wonderful stay

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The view was even better then the pictures.
Location: Walk to two great restaurants
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, view was better than expected, hot tub was great, and breakfast was hot and ready.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
The room was comfortable but very expensive for what you got and the hotel was in need of updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by June Kuglin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we do hope that you will come and visit us again soon and give us the opportunity to do just that. Warm regards, June Kuglin General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Cute little romantic hotel on the beach.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Location and nice updated bedroom
Cons: Breakfast room is not very attractive.
Location: Located right on the ocean,there is a boardwalk right in front of the hotel that is a must to walk.
Cute spot with beautiful landscaping. Rooms are modern and very clean. Location could not be better. Old fashioned feel with modern amenities.