Ratings based on 874 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday Weekend by the Coast

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Couldn't find fault with anything
We came to celebrate a milestone birthday for me and everything was wonderful! The room was nice and cozy and the view. The view and the sound of the ocean could hardly be beat! It was hard to return to reality after the weekend there. Walking to Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill, along the coast,short drive to do tour at Hearst Castle and the sea lions Piedras Blancas. The staff was friendly and welcoming. And last, but not least, the full breakfast buffet had a good variety and good and yummy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno Ca.

Nice place for a getaway

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Hotel staff was very friendly and professional ,and the cleaning staff led by Arturo were exceptional.only drawback was that cell service was abysmal unless outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Beautiful hotel with an amazing ocean view and bridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel, beautiful beach location.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
The location is great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Changing Times and Priorities

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Still high quality accommodations directly across the street from Moonstone Beach
Cons: Do more to keep the unruly guests quiet
Location: Directly across from Moonstone Beach
My wife and I have been going for years to this hotel and Cambia in general. Sadly this hotel cliental is changing. What used to be a quiet and mostly adult area is now full of families. While some of the folks monitor their children others do not. This Weekend there was three boys driving Remote controlled cars right in front of where folks where going to and from the breakfast area and also by the way, right in front of the office. While we were there, the office didn't say a word to them. These same cars is what woke my wife up tearing through the exterior halls and parking lot. This same group was so loud at breakfast the day before, we just grabbed our food and left. We were not the only ones doing that. We are on the fence as to whether or not we will even go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Wonderful

Posted Dec 26, 2015
This is about as good as it gets when you have to sleep away from your own home. This place has scenic beauty and the room was large and very comfortable. You won't be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by James Davison-General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your "wonderful" review. We are very fortunate to be here on beautiful Moonstone Beach in Cambria. I am pleased you enjoyed the views from your room. James Davison General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel with lots of bonuses

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Unexpectedly great location, it is right across street from the ocean and a very beautiful walk along side of it. Steps away from lions; we were literally were few steps away from them. Beautiful tide pool where you can find sea creatures. Hotel itself is very clean, tidy and cozy. Rooms are very clean and comfy. Most of the rooms will have some ocean view because it's ocean front and obviously ocean sounds. We were very pleased with food. Cheese reception is very nice. There were salami, deserts, veggies coffe and tea besides the cheese. Breakfast was very good. Everything you might want for breakfast was there. Nice veggie and sausage omelette, scrambled eggs, bacon, bagels, cream cheese, oatmeal, younger, etc. overall it was a great hotel for the price, would def come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tulsa, ok

Beautiful beachfront!

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: Great view of the ocean
Location: Close to everything!
So convenient to the boardwalk, beach, restaurants at either end of the street. Fireplaces are especially nice if you're staying in the fall or winter. Beds are very comfy and the hot breakfast buffet and wine & cheese reception in the evenings are a great way to meet other vacationers and share experiences!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2015 by James Davison-General Manager, Hotel Management
The Pelican Inn & Suites's location is perfect for those wanting time at the beach, shopping in town, or a visit to Hearst Castle. We are happy you found your stay with us convenient and comfortable. James Davison General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2015 by James Davison-General Manager, Hotel Management
The Pelican Inn & Suites's location is perfect for those wanting time at the beach, shopping in town, or a visit to Hearst Castle. We are happy you found your stay with us convenient and comfortable. James Davison General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, CA

Nice hotel right across from the beach

Posted Dec 7, 2015
The Pelican Inn and Suites was an enjoyable stay. This was my first time to stay here. The room was clean and updated. We had a room with a partial ocean view. I enjoyed sitting on the patio and looking and listening to the ocean. There is a nice complimentary wine and cheese event in the lobby every night. The breakfast buffet was really good quality with a yummy fresh egg scramble and fresh diced potatoes as well as other food selections. My only complaint about the room was the temperature. It was extremely hot and there was not an option to turn off the gas fireplace. We had to leave the patio door open for several hours to cool off enough to sleep. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2015 by James Davison-General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. However, I do apologize for the temperature issues you experienced. Our maintenance team can close the pilots on hot days and will make sure this is taken care of on your next visit with us if needed. James Davison General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley

Well worth the money

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Complimentary staff. Nice room behind ocean front rooms. Open the window and hear the ocean without paying the huge price tag. Bed was comfortable. Suggest a stronger roast for in room coffee and breakfast in lobby. Cheese and wine was a nice touch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2015 by James Davison-General Manager, Hotel Management
Hearing the ocean from any of our rooms is a great way to relax. Thank you for taking time to review us. We look forward to your return. James Davison General Manager