Ratings based on 934 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Nice hotel nice view right by the ocean clean hotel . Only draw back was there was no air conditioning and even with our sliding door open it was still very stuffy in room .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bowie, MD

Nice stop over

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast
Location: This hotel was very near Hearst Castle
We were only at this hotel one night but it was quite pleasant and the staff was great. It was right on the beach with a wonderful view and very close to nice restaurants. The morning breakfast which was included was quite good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too bad!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
As time has gone on, this hotel has lost it's special-ness due to cut backs by corporate ownership. True, there has been a brightening of the physical building, but many of the amenities have dissappeared due to cut backs. Yet, the prices have risen with the rest of the properties on Moonstone Beach. Too bad, as it was the best on the beach, for the extras. Now, it is just like the rest of the properties, even others owned by the same corporation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: I especially liked the scrambled eggs with mushrooms and the fruit. The lady at check-in was very cheerful and helpful to recommend places for dinner
Cons: The overhead fan didn't seem to work and it was fairly warm in the room. We opened the window to let some cool air in.
Location: As previously stated, this was a great location on Moonstone Beach and close to the ocean and boardwalk.
My husband and I stayed here to celebrate my Birthday on July 25th. It was a nice, updated hotel with nice bedding and linens and a nice complete full breakfast. Location was great because it was right on Moonstone Beach so we could walk along the boardwalk and view the ocean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pleasant hotel on the Pacific shore, quiet and with friendly staff. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Nice hotel, we had nice reception and its close ocean
4 out of 5
by Tom from San Diego

Quick stop on the PCH

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Lucked out with a good deal at the last minute while driving the PCH. Comfortable, clean and attractive hotel room with heated pool and hot tub. Good place to get away from it all since there's limited cell phone reception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pelican Inn - Pleasant Stay!

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay! Fast room check-in/out, complimentary cookies. Clean room with fireplace and ceiling fan, comfy bed. Friendly and helpful front office suggesting dinner places that are within walking distance or a short drive to Carmel. Room has shared balcony with sea view, but you have to step out to enjoy the view. Room cellphone wifi is good but cellphone signal inside my room is non-existent (it seems to be bad for the whole area). Short drive to Hearst Castle and the lighthouse. Beach is just across a small road. Good hot breakfast with sausage, scrambled egg, waffle maker, parfait... Will be back if in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camarillo

Perfect weekend getaway.

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: The gardens, wi-if, coffee in the room, parking, The view.
Location: Perfect access to the beach, short drive to Hearst Castle
The Pelican was a perfect place for a weekend getaway. We stayed there Sat through Mon. We loved the amenities the hotel offered, such as free Wi-Fi, free parking, free breakfast. The hotel had a Keurig machine in the room which gave them major points as I like to have my coffe while getting ready in the mornings and this made it very convenient. The gardens were lovely- I particularly loved all the succulents that were planted everywhere. And the boardwalk across the road was awesome. Incredible views to take in at while leasurely strolling, or at a brisk pace if you want to work off some calories. We will definetely return. 😊😊
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2016
Excellent hotel and very convenyant to eating establishments.