Ratings based on 756 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good getaway

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Nice check in, good view, wine and cheese at 5pm, nice breakfast, and a couple of good walks.
Cons: Very little.
Location: Cambria has wonderful shops and good eats. Close to San Simeon.
Nice ocean view and ocean walking across the road. Close enough to town for shops and good food. Great for a one night getaway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Awesome Location!!!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Couldn't ask for a better location. Beautiful beach right across the street. Room was clean and nicely appointed. However the hot and cold water in the shower was reversed. Also the fan in the room didn't work properly so we were very warm sleeping. The appetizers for the evening and the morning breakfast were very good! Would probably stay here again, but would be sure the fan was working well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel across the street from ocean.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Beautiful place to whale watch. Nice wine tasting in the evening from 5-7 and great complimentary breakfast. Really our only complaint is that there is no air conditioning and the room was very hot at night. There was a ceiling fan but it was so noisy that we weren't able to sleep with it on. Otherwise, great hotel and location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camarillo, CA

Pelican Inn in Cambria

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Vicinity to the beach. Nice Happy hour and breakfast.
Cons: All the appointments could be updated ( paint, carpet, decorations). A good interior decorator could work wonders.
Location: Wonderful place for a hike on the beach, however Cambria needs to do something about the kelp washed ashore (lots of flys). Hearst castle is close.
Hotel very close to beach, but most rooms (ours included) had no view nor ocean breeze. Rooms are not equipped with AC, however I expect they are not needed most of the year. Hotel lacks any special touches and decorations that would give a guest the "WOW" factor. My opinion is that it needs someone with an eye for detail and a nice decorator. Carpets, pictures, etc were old, with little or no appeal to the eye. Very disappointing to pay over $300 a night for a Motel 6 type room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent hotel on Moonstone Beach

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Excellent food! The breakfast includes hot sausages, hash browns, scrambled eggs and homemade salsa!
Cons: The billing "partial ocean view" really overstates it. It would be more truthful to say "an ocean view if you put your chair just right."
Location: Lovely clean beaches, long boardwalk, Moonstone Grill, park at the end of the road for picnics or reading
The Pelican is a beautiful place to stay on Moonstone Beach in Cambria. It has everything you would associate with Moonstone Beach -- right across from the ocean and the boardwalk, easy walking distance to the Moonstone Grill. We had a gorgeous room with a full sitting room, couch and two chairs, balcony with chairs, two TVs, microwave, fridge, and fireplace. The only difficulty is that the balcony was actually closer to the road behind the hotel than it was to the ocean, so during the day you heard more of cars than waves. We also had a couple hours of jack-hammering right below our balcony due to a plumbing problem. Generally it was excellent, though :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Average hotel. The rooms need a lot of work.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Our room had a nice little porch. I wouldn't stay here with out some kind of balcony. Our toilet, fire place, and shower were broken. At 8am the construction and jack hammering started for 4 hours until we decided to leave:( The staff was nice enough to move our room for us. The breakfast and coffee in the morning was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, but not great for the price.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Great location across from the beach.
Cons: Add ceiling fans. It was a warm weekend and the room was not air conditioned. There were three windows, but only one could be opened.
Location: Location is very close to the Hearst Castle and the elephant seals.
The hotel was very nice and the staff was excellent. The room was very clean and nice, but was starting to show its age. The bathroom was very small and dated and didn't seem to fit the room as the room was large and much more modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Great location and friendly staff. Our room was spacious and the fireplace was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, Ca

Beach front hotel in Cambria, Ca.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Great view of the beach at Cambria. Close to shopping and dining.
Cons: The room could use a bathroom renovation.
Location: Walks along the beach. Dinner at Linn's or the Sows Ear, many antique shops to browse.
Nice hotel across from the beach. View is very nice and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was good with the usual fare of waffles and eggs. Potatoes,sausage,cereal and bread. Needed more shampoo, which was brought promptly. Overall a relaxing stay. The room at the price we paid could use some fixing up. Especially the bathroom. Very dingy and looking its age. Cracked tiles and the pocket door needs a paint job. Lampshade coming apart and the screen door was very hard to operate. Nit picky, maybe, but at the price they charge, the room should be in better shape. Still overall a nice place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
From all of us at the Pelican Inn & Suites, thank you for reviewing us. We truly appreciate your feedback. It will help us improve. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon! Best regards, James Davison General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Clean, great location, breakfast was very adequate. The free wifi was a plus up there (cell had no service in the area!). Room was a little warm, and there was no way to really cool it down much (except for a ceiling fan and actually keeping the window open). I would stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon. James Davison General Manager