Ratings based on 932 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Nice hotel nice view right by the ocean clean hotel . Only draw back was there was no air conditioning and even with our sliding door open it was still very stuffy in room .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bowie, MD

Nice stop over

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast
Location: This hotel was very near Hearst Castle
We were only at this hotel one night but it was quite pleasant and the staff was great. It was right on the beach with a wonderful view and very close to nice restaurants. The morning breakfast which was included was quite good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too bad!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
As time has gone on, this hotel has lost it's special-ness due to cut backs by corporate ownership. True, there has been a brightening of the physical building, but many of the amenities have dissappeared due to cut backs. Yet, the prices have risen with the rest of the properties on Moonstone Beach. Too bad, as it was the best on the beach, for the extras. Now, it is just like the rest of the properties, even others owned by the same corporation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: I especially liked the scrambled eggs with mushrooms and the fruit. The lady at check-in was very cheerful and helpful to recommend places for dinner
Cons: The overhead fan didn't seem to work and it was fairly warm in the room. We opened the window to let some cool air in.
Location: As previously stated, this was a great location on Moonstone Beach and close to the ocean and boardwalk.
My husband and I stayed here to celebrate my Birthday on July 25th. It was a nice, updated hotel with nice bedding and linens and a nice complete full breakfast. Location was great because it was right on Moonstone Beach so we could walk along the boardwalk and view the ocean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pleasant hotel on the Pacific shore, quiet and with friendly staff. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Nice hotel, we had nice reception and its close ocean
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camarillo

Perfect weekend getaway.

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: The gardens, wi-if, coffee in the room, parking, The view.
Location: Perfect access to the beach, short drive to Hearst Castle
The Pelican was a perfect place for a weekend getaway. We stayed there Sat through Mon. We loved the amenities the hotel offered, such as free Wi-Fi, free parking, free breakfast. The hotel had a Keurig machine in the room which gave them major points as I like to have my coffe while getting ready in the mornings and this made it very convenient. The gardens were lovely- I particularly loved all the succulents that were planted everywhere. And the boardwalk across the road was awesome. Incredible views to take in at while leasurely strolling, or at a brisk pace if you want to work off some calories. We will definetely return. 😊😊
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2016
Excellent hotel and very convenyant to eating establishments.
2 out of 5
by Leighton from Fresno, CA

Not as expected. Low quality for high price

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing experience at the Pelican Inn. There were 3 sections of rooms. 2 were modernized. The 3rd was run-down & looked well dated. Our room was in the run-down section. Check in was quick & easy. Parking is difficult if your car is bigger than a Prius. In the section with our room, we found the decor to be outdated, carpets in the hallways to be old, stained and looking dirty. Hallway walls were marked up with years of scuffs from luggage and maid carts. While the room was clean, we found many issues of being in poor repair. There were cracks along the ceiling and around one of the light fixtures. The carpet looked dirty and stained. There was a hole in the wall that had been patched, but un-painted. Some baseboards were broken and missing in places. The only temperature control was a thermostat on the wall that controlled the gas fireplace. The 1st night the heat never increased. The 2nd night the heat never decreased. There is barely enough parking for all the guests. On the second night we returned to the Pelican Inn and found that there were no more parking spaces available in the parking areas. The front desk person told us we had to park 1/2 way down the block & across the street. But all was not bad. The free breakfast was great. The food was hot & good. There was plenty of variety with only 10 minutes left in the free breakfast time on Sunday morning that they were still cooking & putting out plenty of fresh new food.
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels