Ratings based on 684 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Feb 5, 2018
The room was dirty, sheets were not cleaned or changed, there was hair in the bed & shower, and there was no air circulation in the room which made the room smell. The staff was very rude. We ended up not staying there & we were refused a refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel for the Money

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Decent hotel for the money. Staff was nice. Breakfast ok. Close to Hearst Castle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, pleasant hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We needed a place to spend the night and this was perfect. Rooms were clean and a good size. Staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: hire honest employees
we had a great experience until the last day, We forgot our jackets hanging in the closet and when we called to ask for them an hour later , they "weren't there" Don't forget anything in this hotel it will disappear !! Shame for 3 used jackets, my daughter favorites :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Clean and comfortable rooms. Nice breakfast. Walking distance to the beach. Manta Ray restaurant attached served delicious steak and lobster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
We came late, we didn't spend too much time in this hotel. Overall, I think this hotel is pretty good, close enough to the Hearst Castle. Highly recommend everyone go to elephant seal point. P.S. 8 minutes drive to the nearest gas station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palos hills

close to activities

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: nice workers
Cons: an elevator
Location: Beach animal cove Hearst castle
clean room close to activities workers very nice stayed two nights in November and it was a good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice hotel good price

Posted Nov 29, 2017
I stayed here many years ago when it was a different hotel. Not much has changed. The rear bldg has an area with a hot tub that needs to be cleaned and serviced to put it back into use and the old refrigerators need to be cleared out
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

One night stay

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Generally clean. Tub area in the bathroom requires some work. Bed is not very comfortable. Breakfast area is very small and crowded. Restaurant on site is convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lower priced and clean. Nothing fantastic, but ok

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect
This is nothing fancy, but okay for a place to sleep. Clean and easy.