Ratings based on 2,418 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Good Location for Hearst Castle Visitora

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Good Location for Hearst Castle Visitor and local attractions. Minimum choice for nearby places to eat. If time is available go to San Luis Obispo for food
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Good location with very nice restaurant. Room was dated but clean
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Good first appearance, unfortunately all it was g

Posted Sep 18, 2017
From outside lodge looked nice however once inside not good. Sink did not drain in bathroom , toilet did not flush paper down unless flushed several times, shower not nice. Could hear upstairs just walking around the room very loudly .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with ocean view.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Overall a nice place with ocean view and Hearst Castle right around the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno ca

Quaint hotel next to beach

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Nice hotel next to beach Staff accomadating We left some clothing in closet and they saved it for us for a friend to pick up
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California

Close to Hearst Castle but no AC!!!!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Unfortunately we stayed the night on a 100 degree day and were very disappointed to find no AC or fans in our room! If we stayed in the fall or winter it would probably be ok. Only 10 min from Hearst Castle. Very limited restaurant/food places close by. If I was to visit the area again I would probably stay in Cambria instead! More food options available in that nearby city!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Expensive for what you get. Room wasn't the cleanest, blown light bulbs, no fan or cooling system and noisy at night (even though they had a quiet time, this was not enforced)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tracy, ca

Very convenient, good food at the restaurant.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Good food, clean rooms, nice landscaping, nice to sit on the porch and enjoy the birds and sounds of the waves crashing on the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside County, CA

No Return

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The maid was very nice.
Cons: Proper training for the desk clerk. Competent help to do repairs. The bathroom remodel was obviously not done by a professional.
Location: The ocean was across the street.. Good restaurant, Sebastians, about a half a mile north. Hearst Castle.
A very small room was turned into a handicap room. A wheelchair would be extremely difficult to move around. The only space to walk was a u-shape around the bed. A wheelchair would not be able to navigate at all. The king bed took up all the space. The outlet had a multi plug adaptor -- probably against fire regulations. A piece of tile was missing in the bathroom. There was no closet so you could not hang up your clothes. The ironing board and iron were perched in a corner. The desk clerk did not have proper training. We had made our reservations weeks in advance, but our room was not ready and we had to wait for it to be cleaned. In the meantime other guests came in and she left us sitting in an adjoining room and never bothered to help us further. When I approached the counter she said she had to help the guests checking in first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Well priced, very nice room, spacious with balcony, great location for beach. Very nice.