Ratings based on 2,318 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Hearst Castle -

Posted May 22, 2017
Stayed here with a late night arrival. Had asked for a handicapped room by phone and those facilities were excelllent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Noisy neighbors but great otherwise!

Posted May 10, 2017
I night our of 4 nights stayed I had Noise neighbors! They have sitting tables ocean view who decided to sit outside my window to have there party. I couldn't enjoy my ocean view because there were a group of men smoking , drinking along with loud music. The day I arrived they upgraded my room to ocean view. I ended up having a great stay after my noisy neighbors left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely view

Posted May 9, 2017
Room was spacious, clean, and modern with ocean view that was amazing Heated pool (didn't use it though) and restaurant and mini market on site
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Very nice rooms. Desk clerk was very helpful.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Everything. Rooms were clean
Cons: There was no television reception in any of the three rooms we rented. Lighting was really bad in our 3rd room .
Location: We stayed here because of the close proximity to Hearst Castle.
Restaurant was very accommodating as we arrived at closing time, yet they still served our party of 6.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok for price

Posted May 5, 2017
Cons: Table and chairs on patio
We drove 5 hours to get here from home. Goal was to have reasonable hotel as base for visiting Pacific Grove and Carmel. It has minimal facilities and breakfast. We were right next to the road but surprised to find it was quiet in the room. You could walk to stores and drive to pick up freeway or drive to Monterey was fairly easy. Con: while it had a patio, there were no chairs or table outside so it was basically useless. Pro: they had the most beautiful rose bushes in front. Overall just ok for a short stay and night's sleep. You get what you pay for!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vista, CA

Nice if you're on a budget.

Posted May 3, 2017
My only complaint is that the shower and toilet were not made for someone that is over 5'8". I haven't found a hotel where they are though. Other than that everything was great. Upstairs rooms have an ocean view. Very short drive to Hearst Castle. For a budget hotel, it worked out for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasant stay at San Simeon Lodge

Posted Apr 24, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Lodge. It is close to the beach and even if we stayed only for one night, we could go for a little walk by the ocean in the morning, enjoy the scenery and then have a breakfast at the Lodge's restaurant with the ocean view. There is a small shop for everyday necessities also.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Close to the ocean

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Run down. Needs serious updating. It's close to the ocean, you can hear the waves from your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fillmore, CA

Pleasant and relaxing stay...The best around!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: I was the best out there with perfect view to the beach and sunset!
Cons: The food was dissapointing. The room service was dissapointing as well. We ask for two extra towels twice and nobody ever showed up:(
Location: The location was perfect and we visited the Hearst Castle, but nobody could inform us of anything else to entertain the kids...
It was our first trip with our family away from home. It was very calm and relaxing. The beds are so comfortable and I found everything I needed in our room. The thing I didn't like was the TV channels and the food at the restaurant was disappointing. We found other places to eat after having breakfast there:( However, we loved our room and the heated pool!:) My kids love swimming and since the weather was cold it was nice to get in the warm water...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs area

very pleasant & helpful

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The location & the front desk help
Cons: as noted above.
Was an adequate room, good bed and nice linens. Peeling paint and ready for a facelift took away somewhat from the satisfaction quotient. However the motel was close to our destination and reasonably priced. Sorry but the same (reasonable price) can not be said about the restaurant.