Ratings based on 1,840 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted May 26, 2018
The dining room was not welcoming and was in need of a good clean. The menu was overpriced for the surroundings. Most guests we saw including ourselves ate at the hotel across the way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Great overnight stay

Posted May 23, 2018
Pros: Location and the rooms.
Cons: The restaurant seemed a little expensive so we didn't eat there.
Location: Hearst Castle was only a 10 minute drive and you could walk over the road to the beach.
We had a lovely night at the hotel after our visit to Hearst Castle. Rooms were clean and comfortable with a nice sized bathroom. We even saw whales breaching while we were sitting in the bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, with view of the beach

Posted May 18, 2018
This was a pleasant night's stay along California's Hwy 1. Very close to Hearst Castle, which we toured. The attached restaurant offered a good meal and drinks at a reasonable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2018
Had no air conditioning in rooms. Restaurant was expensive and found a bed bed under the mattress.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VANCOUVER

Posted May 5, 2018
BEDBUGS. Was shocked when I found bedbugs in the bed when I got up in the morning. Should have checked under the mattress before going to bed but didn't because we were exhausted from travelling. Was shocked and disappointed. The management offered no help. We had to interrupt our trip to find a laundromat to wash everything and buy a steamer to steam everything we couldn't wash. YUCK!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Good hotel...

Posted May 1, 2018
Great location...great staff...good room! What else do you want?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ALWAYS TAKE OUR FIRST TIME YOSEMITE VISITORS

Posted Apr 22, 2018
BEEN STAYING AT THE LODGE FOR MANY YEARS SNOWED 5 INCHES. WENT DOWN TO THE SUGAR PINE RAILROAD FOR THE 930 AM TRAIN RIDE. BEAUTIFUL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Good location. Reasonable price. Nice bed. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Was ok, great beach stay. Bed not very comfortable, old bathroom but great for quick escape!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Good stopping point. Good value for money. Convenient restaurant with good food and service.