Ratings based on 2,444 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Very nice setting for the motel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Ice machine did not work during the entire 4-day stay, the Wi-Fi was horrible, no free breakfast amenities, but it was a beautiful setting across from the ocean and the motel itself is beautiful and very charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Nice, simple and convenient hotel. But insonorisation is not that great (loud neighbors).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The room was otherwise nice. Coffee in room was not very good at all, so I went to get some at the coffee bar. The front desk said there was someone there, but I waited and no one showed up. I couldn't find anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittier, Ca

Great hotel for an overnight stay.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Great hotel for an overnight stay. Rooms are a bit outdated. However staff is very helpful and accomodating. Excellent staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, CA

Great location but needs renovation.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Staff was pleasant and the rooms were clean but very small and in desperate need of a renovation. Beds were terrible and we could feel springs coming through. Shower stall was so small that I had to squat down to get my hair wet and I am 5'6. The location was great and staff were clearly doing their best but the owners need to sink some money into this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: We loved the fact that Elvis does karaoke every friday and saturday night! Fantastic entertainment and environment. He was amazing XX
Cons: The pool area was fantastic with the exception of rusting pool fencing. Needs to be replaced asap before a dangerous incident occurs.
Location: Nice secluded location but with everything you need near by. We visited Hearst castle and explored Cambria a quaint little town near by.
had a fabulous two night stay here with my family of four, was only supposed to stay one night and liked it so much we booked for two instead! Clean, comfortable rooms, great lay out and fantastic views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: A room by the beach is perfect. Older hotel but clean, bathroom in good shape, beds very comfy, close to the Castle, We enjoyed the scarecrows.
A room by the beach is perfect. Older hotel but clean, bathroom in good shape, beds very comfy, close to the Castle, We enjoyed the scarecrows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walnut Creek, Ca

Best Value in San Simeon

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Location and Price
Cons: Small TV
Location: Great Value for visiting Hearst Castle
For location, the price paid, this was a great value. On the negative side, I thought the hotel's restaurant prices were a bid steep. Across the street, the restaurant at the Chevalier Hotel was the best value and with great service and views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Good Location for Hearst Castle Visitora

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Good Location for Hearst Castle Visitor and local attractions. Minimum choice for nearby places to eat. If time is available go to San Luis Obispo for food
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Good location with very nice restaurant. Room was dated but clean