Ratings based on 706 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DOWNEY,CA

A GOOD PLACE TO STAY

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: NEEDS A LEAST ONE MORE TRASH CAN IN THE ROOM
Location: THE LOCATION IT'S PERFECT
EVERYTHING WAS JUST RIGHT, I REALLY LIKE THIS PLACE !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Motel near to Big Sur Coast.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The good - sized room,well kept and a comfortable bed.
Cons: The bathroom fittings were a little tired, cracked basin. The water had to be run off first as it came out brown. No free breakfast.
Location: See the elephant seal beach about 5 miles north.
A pleasant motel, we had an upstairs room, which was quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Dec 21, 2016
We needed a place to stay on the way down PCH on a cold rainy day. Close to Hearst castle and the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Neat little motel convenient to Hearst Castle

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location was great and it was quiet (though we were there during "low" season).
Cons: The showers could use an update, but everything was neat and clean.
Location: Hearst Castle, Elephant Seals, wine tasting, Paso Robles, Cambria
This was a nice little motel with a comfortable bed and a convenient location to Hearst Castle, the elephant seals, and Piedras Blancas lighthouse. It is also just a few short miles to the lovely town of Cambria. It is also across Highway 1 from the ocean, and on a clear day, I'm sure you get a pretty view. However, we were there in the winter, so it was foggy and rainy, and despite the fact the ocean was just right there, we couldn't see it. Otherwise, the people are friendly, the general store attached to the hotel is very useful, and the rooms were nice and neat. The only issue I had was that the showers desperately needed an upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice clean hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Location: Close to ocean, Cambria, Hearst Castle and elephant seal viewing beach.
We checked in early and our rooms weren't ready. They upgraded our pool view to an ocean view. Very clean upgraded room. Very affordable and would stay here again. Pool, restaurant, mini mart on site. Made it nice to grab little things we needed for our travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Where we always try to stay when we get to the coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MY

Reasonable pricing, convenient and good location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Opposite beach, and convenient for eating and buying staff from mini mart
Cons: Nil
Location: Mini mart, restaurant and liquor shop near by
Spacious and clean, a lot of parking space, just in front of your room. Convenient
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Run-of-the-mill beach town motel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Feeling of being somewhat run down. We looked into the restaurant, but it was no more appealing than the room, and we did not eat there.
Location: Beach across the street, elephant seals beach and Hearst Castle visitor center close by, very convenient.
Staff was pretty-much just going through the motions, doing their job without providing any feeling of hospitality. The room was fine, nothing special, but certainly dated. For example, the pictures hung on the wall were literally falling out of their matting, and as I passed other rooms I noticed the same thing was happening in others. The room also had a strange odor. The pictures were so faded only the faint blues remained visible. It is a convenient location for the area highlights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its ok for a night or 2

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Location good for Hearst Castle, there are a few hotels all in the same area to serve as stop overs for people going there
The room was what you expect really, ok but nothing more. Bathroom a little tired and shabby. The lobby is almost hidden and I had to hunt for it, it's tucked away behind the restaurant and bar. On check out there was no one at reception, I rang the bell and waited 5 mins before I just left. Someone before me had obviously done the same as the were another set of keys on the desk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

A diamond in the rough

Posted Nov 8, 2016
A group of friends, 9 of us, stayed Saturday and Sunday for our bi-monthly weekend motorcycle ride. This hotel is well worth the money, it's not a five star but it made the weekend that much more fun. We had a great time here, very friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed, great location, plenty of parking. Fun bar at the hotel with karaoke on Friday & Saturdays with "Elvis" & great bartender Juan that makes delicious drinks. Restaurant at the hotel had excellent service and yummy food! Location was perfect, just walked across the street and we were at the beach and it was just a 3.5 mile drive to get to Hearst Castle. My only complaint about the hotel is flat pillows and very little water pressure in the shower. I am definitely staying here again.