Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Stop here on your road trip

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Fabulous old place that harks back to a bygone era. It's a bit close to the highway but the rooms are great, open fireplaces, comfy chairs, huge bed and a lovely rustic feel. California quail on the golf course was a bonus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW

Super Lage

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Schönes Hotel direkt am Meer. Sauber. Freundliches Personal. Gutes Frühstück
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad Ca

NO POOL, LIARS. Do not believe anything you read!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: EVERYTHING!!!!
Location: Cambria is a gorgeous little town. Farmers market was lovely, Madeline's is a must and so is Robin's Restaurant.
It says lovely pool, it's closed for construction. Says golf...LOL, yeah in 1950 maybe!!! Coyotes dump garbage all over the place. There answer to early check in, is to rob you of your upgraded rose courtyard view and dump you by the dumpsters! DO NOT USE should be on sign by fireplace! If you want to get smoked out of your room...turned it on because it's cold and then slept with windows open!!!! This place is a dump!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Had a very pleasant stay. Facility is older but seemed very competitive with other choices. Breakfast was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chula Vista, Ca

Condition of rooms n beddings. No Internet.

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Nice location due to proximity to the beach .Too ancient heating element.Room is too cold.Linens are getting flaky and needs replacements..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Very retro

Posted Jun 26, 2016
I have driven past this hotel many times and thought the location was very nice. The beach next to the hotel is a very rugged rough beach and maybe not ideal for children. Although the pool look to beautiful we weren't allowed to use it. We had to go down the street to another hotel with a heated pool. The front desk said the hotel had been taken over by new owners. I don't think anything has been done in many years. Mismatch furniture broken door fronts very rough sheets. Nice location but not a luxury hotel. Breakfast was minimal. They had to set up temporary banquet tables for the people having breakfast. Again not very luxury. With so many hotels and Cambria I will choose something else the next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks

Close to beach, fab breakfast, needs update

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: breakfast was awesome; staff was very nice and kept the breakfast area clean as well as stocked. Shuffle board and croquet games for families was nice
Cons: Rooms are very dated. Could use new flooring, both carpet as well as tile in bath. That would be #1 priority. Curtains and bedding would be 2nd.
Location: Great location; walk to beach; Cambria very nearby for food/shopping; wine tasting nearby as well
The hotel has lots of potential. It could seriously use some revamped bathroom flooring as well as fresh carpet. The entire room is very "dated" but the beds were fairly comfortable overall. Flooring is the worst. It just doesn't feel "clean," even though it had obviously been cleaned, just bc of the state of the flooring. The staff was very pleasant. Breakfast was awesome! The availability of games (Shuffleboard, croquet) was very nice and the location is great. Very pleasant walk along the boardwalk to Moonstone beach where we saw the seals basking in the sun as well as fish skeletons on the rocks who got lost on shore due to change in tide. Would consider staying here again but it would be a no- brainer if they replaced the flooring!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Very basic facilities but clean and in a good location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Short stay, good rest

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Quiet and restful. Clean spacious rooms.
Location: This area has great dining, small quaint shops, and a fabulous coast to explore.
Made an unplanned stop thru Expedia on our way to San Francisco. Very pleasant, and quiet with cottage style rooms right next to the ocean. Very restful after a day of traveling. Wish we could have explored the area more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: close to the ocean.
Cons: comfort for customers
Location: scenic hwy. #1, Hearst Castle nearby, and the seal sanctuary.
Disappointed with my stay.. no coffee till 7:30am no coffee maker in room, swimming pool not open, no air conditioner in room or fan for circulation, continental breakfast minimal, very slow internet, no smoking on property but not posted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Morgan Thompson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write your review. We are very excited to announce our hotel has just been purchased by Pacifica Hotels and a complete renovation of the property is expected to be completed by the end of summer. We hope you give us another chance, and please call me directly when you do so I can ensure an amazing stay at a nicely discounted rate. Thank you and we apologize for any inconvenience. Sincerely, Morgan Thompson, General Manager