Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rosenheim, Bayern

Schönes Hotel mit super Lage

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Die Lage ist super. Direkt am PCH 1 und der Strand ist zu Fuß leicht zu erreichen. Zimmer ist ausreichend groß, sauber und neu renoviert. Eine Mikrowelle und Kühlschrank ist vorhanden. Der nächste Ort mit Einkaufsmöglichkeit ist ca. 6 Meilen entfernt. Restaurants sind in unmittelbarer Nähe (keine Fast Food - Ketten). Kaffee ist in der Lobby erhältlich (während der Öffnungszeit)
Cons: Der Empfang war sehr unfreundlich und unpersönlich. Wir kamen uns vor, als kämen wir ungelegen. Für's Frühstück gibt es nur einen $4 Gutschein für das Restaurant im Nachbarhotel (also nicht wirklich inklusive). Klimaanlage gab es nicht bzw. hat nicht funktioniert. Nur ein Ventilator. Rezeption ist nur von 2 pm bis 9 pm besetzt. Von einem familiengeführten Hotel könnte man einen freundlicheren Service erwarten.
Location: Das Hotel liegt direkt am PCH 1 und nur durch eine weitere Häuserreihe vom Strand entfernt. "Hearst Castle" ist ca. 10 Fahrminuten entfernt
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Clean, comfortable, but old and worn

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Hearst Castle
This hotel is clean and reasonably comfortable. Reception was friendly. But the hotel is in sore need of renovation. Rust stains, a loud bathroom fan, nice LCD high def TV, but no digital service to support it. Good view of the beach with beach access.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york


Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: WE did immensely enjoy our visit to the Hearst Castle
The hotel looked nice but once we registered it was downhill from there. We were told that every night there was a fire pit to sit around. We never found this. We were told any problem go next door to the Best Western. There was never anyone in this hotel to assist with anything. One room had no hot water and the hotel only ceiling fans to keep you cool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Not worth the cost.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Aside from enjoying the beach and visiting the Hearst Castle, there is really nothing to do nearby.
Overall, this motel was rather a bust. While the staff was nice, the amenities were shabby and there was actually a warning placard in the bathroom that some of the building's materials and some materials used in the maintenance of the building are known carcinogens. Also, the walls are thin and I could hear every car passing by on Highway 1. Not to mention the dead bolt was broken in my room and the hotel didn't offer me any discount on my room rate for the inconvenience of having to change rooms because of it. Also, the site advertises private beach access but fails to mention that there is very nice public beach access practically right next to the motel. The towels in the bathroom were shabby and even had holes in them. The staff at the restaurant next door, for which The Sands provides guests with a $4 voucher, was polite, but not very warm; and everything about this place seemed rather standoff-ish. I would NOT recommend staying here, it is definitely NOT worth the cost.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prima hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Ligging, kamers, schoon, vriendelijk
Cons: -
Location: 5 minuten rijden naar Hearst Castle, hotel gelegen aan het strand.
Boven verwachting net hotel. Mooie schone kamers en vriendelijk personeel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very nice hotel close to the beach - recommend

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Reception, room comfort, WiFi, quiet
Cons: Linked hotel restaurant was excellent for dinner I felt they didn't appreciate us just using our free continental breakfast voucher
Friendly welcome, large modern comfortable room, free continental breakfast, dining options at linked hotel restaurant next door, fire pits lit on beach at sunset! Recommend
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic Accommodations with a Great Location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Basic accommodations with a great location at a great price. The restaurant has good service and good food. The room was clean with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. We didn't swim in the pool but it looked well cared for and clean. The front desk hours are abbreviated (1 to 9 PM) but this did not prove to be an inconvenience for us. We got a $4.00 breakfast voucher for each person per day. The fire pits at night were lit by the employees and nice places to hang out and talk with the other guests. I would recommend it but don't expect the Ritz.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bra läge, trevligt hotell

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Rent o fräscht Nära till stranden Snabb incheckning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Hotel office only open after a certain time. They left dirty towels in our room. They advertised a jacuzzi and we had to use the jacuzzi at the Best Western.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Didn´t what it promised...

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: It´s closed to the Highway No 1 and beach access
Cons: The bathroom and the pool, at the first.
Location: We visit the beach
It looked on the internet that there is ocean view. It isn´t. Breakfast included, no. We received a $4 coupon for the restaurant close by. The indoor pool was dirty and not well maintained. The bathroom was old and need a restauration...