Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

No staff on Site!

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Room was large and basicaly clean.
Location: Hotel was located right off the highway near other hotels and a few restaurants.
Hotel did not have any staff on site. We had to go to hotel next door to check in. The lobby at Sands by the Sea was not open the entire time of our stay. Our room did not have a view of the ocean, but the view of the back of the next building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from LA

Great accommodations on the beach side of SSimeon

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Conditioner would be nice and hair dryer in room
Location: Hearst Castle - elephant seals- beach within steps
Great weekend escape! Beachside Great time with family members
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Run down, damp and old

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Updating, clean the comforters, remove the flies, new plumbing, fix leaks, repair snd clean pool, put a table and chairs or a sofa in the room.
Location: Location is right next to highway. Not on beach at all. Stay at the Cavalier instead, or stay in Cambria.
Flies everywhere. Every day, more little baby flies appeared in the bathroom. So gross. Staff was nice and re-cleaned and apologized, but they still came back. Also, top comforter was dirty and used, had hair and what looked like snot from someone else on it. Pool is horrible, slimy and isolated. Only accessible from a dark and wet breezeway between buildings. All hotel rooms face the highway. The hotel is tucked behind the Cavalier Hotel, the sister property. Cavalier faces water, the Sands is on the highway side. Photos on website are deceiving. No table in room, just a desk with one chair and the beds. Nowhere else to sit. Bathroom floor leaked between wall and floor tile, odd. Water coming from bathroom faucet smelled vaguely like sewage. One good thing is the beds were comfortable and when I asked staff to clean the room, they cleaned well. But I'd never recommend this place, needs serious fixing, fhe plumbing and everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver,BC

ok hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The breakfast
Location: The beach, elephant seals and the Hearst Castel
Ok hotel in good location, close to beach, poor breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, close to the beach

Posted Oct 24, 2017
The room was ok. They just need to reconfigure the bathroom. The space is big but the shower area is tiny. We like the backside of the hotel, it has chairs were you can relax and watch sunset and even watch the whales duting migration.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Close to the beach and Hearst Castle

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Desperately in need of an update. The ceiling in room 146 is black with dirt. There are no towel racks/bars in the bathroom. If you are staying multiple days, nowhere to hang a towel for the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from murfreesboro Tenessee

Convient place

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Comfortable room, good location, nearby shopping. Breakfast ok
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel next to beach

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, fire pit, close to Hearst Castle and elephant seals
Cons: AC !
Location: Hearst Castle, Elephant Seals
Pros - hotel right on beach, giant chess/checkers to play on the beach, lovely fire pit on the beach, elephant seals on the beach 10 minutes up the road, Heart Castle 10 minutes up the road Cons - NO AC and it was 111 when we arrived during the massive heat wave in San Simeon and most CA. Shampoo in room but no cream rinse, the other room didn't have shampoo or cream rinse. Our toliet "moves" around the base of the floor when you sit on it. The Mexican restaurant next to the hotel had VERY SLOW service. We probably could have walked out and left without paying our check. I would not recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Pit Stop to Hearst Castle

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is old and needs updating. The room was small, but tidy. The continental breakfast was choice of toast or muffin and coffee. Great view of sunset from the beach. The accommodations and condition was not worth the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
It was clean and service was good. First they put us in a room with mold in the bathroom but they changed the room after we complained and new room was clean and mold free. Location on the beach was perfect.