Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from murfreesboro Tenessee

Convient place

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Comfortable room, good location, nearby shopping. Breakfast ok
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel next to beach

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, fire pit, close to Hearst Castle and elephant seals
Cons: AC !
Location: Hearst Castle, Elephant Seals
Pros - hotel right on beach, giant chess/checkers to play on the beach, lovely fire pit on the beach, elephant seals on the beach 10 minutes up the road, Heart Castle 10 minutes up the road Cons - NO AC and it was 111 when we arrived during the massive heat wave in San Simeon and most CA. Shampoo in room but no cream rinse, the other room didn't have shampoo or cream rinse. Our toliet "moves" around the base of the floor when you sit on it. The Mexican restaurant next to the hotel had VERY SLOW service. We probably could have walked out and left without paying our check. I would not recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

No frills but great beach access

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, fire pits, telescopes
No frills but great beach access. Fabulous views and whale watching.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed one night during a drive up the Pacific Coast Highway. We did not have high expectations and only needed a place to stay for the night and it fit the bill. The room was nice and there was free WiFi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Slinger, WI

Overpriced for the value.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Disappointed with the condition and value of the hotel especially considering the room rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Nice and quiet hotel next to the beach.

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Quiet and really close to the ocean.
Cons: The rust stains and mold needs to be cleaned from the shower.
Location: We did some sight seeing, fishing, and hiking. There are a couple of nearby restaurants there, too.
We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. It was quiet and just a few steps away from the ocean. You can get breakfast at the Cavalier Restaurant with a coupon from the hotel. The only thing I didn't like was the shower. The rust stains and mold needs to be taken care of.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice and close to beach

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: colors, clean and close to ocean
Cons: Bathroom update
Location: Winetasting and Ragged Point Big Sur
Overall comfortable - the bathroom could use a little updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SD

Great deal for money minded travelers!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
This location & price was a bargain! Room was clean & comfortable. The location amazing. Right by the beautiful beach & within a few short miles of Elephant Seal Beach & Heardt Castle! Both a must see!! Plus they give you a nice breakfast! Great deal!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Good location and decent motel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
It was not necessarily a bad experience but not a place that I would stay beyond one day. We were looking at affordability when we booked this place and the rooms looked decent online. The beds were comfortable but the bathroom was the main issue since the door would not close and the shower head was loose and with lime scale. We can also tell that the toilet seat has had its use; sign of scaling and scratches. We don't consider going back to it and prefer spending a bit more to have a more relaxing experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Had to walk thru marijuana smoke to get to our room only to find holes in our sheets, a ceiling fan that clicked, toilet that sounded like a jet engine taking off when you flushed, and a next door neighbor with a howling dog. Went to the office the next morning to complain. The staff was very apologetic but only comped us breakfast.