Ratings based on 709 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Escondido, CA

Dated facilities, unfriendly staff.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
When I checked in, the guy in reception and I went through the motions and that was that. I attempted to request a room downstairs but I haven't even finished my sentence when he started shaking his head. He then said they were fully booked and he could not do anything about it -- he then proceeded to tell me that my room was downstairs. Now, I understand that small inns and motels like these sell out and the receptionist guy was right, he can't give in to every single petty requests from tourists. It's the way he said it that was off putting... bordering on rude. But it was my birthday and I didn't want anything to ruin my day so I let it slide. We get into the room and what do I find? A small, lumbar pillow with crusted stains on it. I'd hate to think what it was but it looked like someone had really, really "loved" that pillow if you get my drift. It was downright nasty. I threw that thing on the ground and didn't give it a second look.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Most of the towels had stains. For breakfast they only offer coffee, orange/apple juice, cereal and mini muffins!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno ca

Nice place to rest before hitting the Paso Robles

Posted Jul 31, 2017
The best part was the cordial attention frim the young man at the lobby. very helpful n friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

nice hotel with nice view

Posted Jul 18, 2017
the view from the window is the ocean, so wonderful! a good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Very Clean rooms. Even a little pool. Small but tidy and neat. Breakfast is ok but not great. Good value otherwise for a beach stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los gatos, ca

We like this place, nice location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: price
Location: it is near Hurst Castle and now far from Cambria
We like this place, they did nice upgrades and the staff is great. It is at a great location for a visit to Hurst Castle or other places nearby. It is a step above the Motel 6.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beach views

Posted Jul 2, 2017
A real bargain. No air but open windows for sea breeze.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, nothing else

Posted Jun 27, 2017
It served our purpose to stay for the night. That's about it! Nothing more. Only nice thing: walkable to beach. Nice views. Hotel is really old. There was rust stains (too much) in bath tub. Nothing (except the shore) is close by. Don't expect anything to drive to close by for food. Breakfast is a joke. Don't count on it...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ca.

Location is within walking distance to beach.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach. Lots of parking.
Cons: Cleanliness, repairs, get rid of torn bath towels.
Location: Cambria beaches and pier nearby, seal elephants viewpoint minutes away, Hearst Castle also minutes away.
This hotel is just o.k.. Parking is easy, hotel is right off of highway 1. Complimentary breakfast consists of small danishes and muffins, cereal, toast and coffee. Room needed work. Towels had holes in them. Tub had rust stains and there was quite a bit of somebody's long hair behind bathroom door. No air conditioning or fans in room. I would probably look elsewhere next time I am looking for an overnight stay in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near beaches,parks,Hearst Castle.

Posted May 29, 2017
Standard motel. Big room. Pool. Free WiFi, free Continental breakfast.