Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cerritos, CA

Nice place with beautiful views of the ocean

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: The location, the views, the cleanliness, the hot water in the shower, refrigerator, large tv, quick check-in, comfortable bed.
Cons: The Continental breakfast could have been better.
Location: We stayed there because of our tour of Hearst Castle, which was minutes from the hotel. Beach access was within walking distance to to hotel.
We didn't expect much due to other's rating of the hotel on yelp. We were pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and the King size bed was very comfortable! Large TV, microwave, and good size refrigerator. Coffee maker in the room, along with blow dryer. Our TV had a remote problem upon arrival, and we called the front desk and they were at the door 1 minute later to fix the problem! Excellent service. The room was ready on time, everything was clean, parking was great, water was hot!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Convenient hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2016
The hotel was clean and affordable. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Could definitely use some new towels. My only concern was the water in faucet. When we brushed out teeth it tasted like baking soda. I would recommend bringing bottled water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jan 20, 2016
The room was much better than we were expecting. Nice, clean, and spacious with comfortable beds. The only thing was water was salty and breakfast was not that great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The inside is newly updated and modern. However, the floors were sticky, and shower didn't quite get hot. The walls are thin. For the price, it was about accurate, but not impressive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davis CA

If you really have no other solution...

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleaning, changing floors and furnitures...
Location: Nothing to do in San Simeon, just the Hearst Castle... two or three bad restaurants, no place to hang out.
It is expensive, old and crappy, .... and so disappointing! The worst was the breakfast... outside! On a first of January, it is really an issue. We went there because everything else was booked or overpriced but I would have better driving for an hour more. Find something else or drive to Monterey or Juan Obispo...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Good Location

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Great location after driving through Big Sur from Monterey but I wish the hotel options in San Simeone were a little bit better at this price point. Breakfast was not good. No real creamer for the coffee. The view from our room would have been great if we didnt have to look at equipment that looked like it was being stored. we also could not fund where to adjust the thermostat although the temperature was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on Highway 1

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: No tissue paper box in the room. Breakfast is ok.
Great location. Few things could have been better: tissue paper box in the room and breakfast juices were diluted with water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Gem along the coast

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Location, view and comfort.
Cons: Maybe a little more selection at breakfast. But that may be because we stayed in bed till the last minute. Ha ha.
Location: Visited the Hearst Castle, awesome. Drove California 1 up the coast. Everyone should do this at least once in their life.
Found this little gem on Expedia, the reviews did not match the price. It was so nice. Windows that opened to fresh ocean breezes. Comfy bedding and no maddening crowd. Would I recommend to friends? I already have. Loved it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2015
not sure about the safety. it was on the ground floor. they said they had breakfast included but it was cereal, and muffins
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from la

Good hotel but terrible staff

Posted Nov 29, 2015
I didn't like the staff and we had our breakfast outside with very cold tempreture!!!