Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Loved it! Will definitely stay there again. Very clean, and staff very friendly. All rooms have ocean view. Excellent location, close to Hearst Castle and Piedras Blancas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Remodeled, older hotel with a view - great value!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable bed Nice view of the ocean Clean & up-to-date Large fridge Great deal!
Cons: Eventually the outside of the hotel could use some updating. But I'd rather they leave it as is and keep the bargain price!
Location: Close to Hearst Castle & the Elephant Seal beach (north), or a State Park and beaches, plus the quaint town of Cambria (south)
I stayed here a few years ago and loved it. Enjoyed it just as much the second time around. The hotel is older, but was remodeled a few years ago so rooms look classy and up-to-date. They have lovely, dark wood furniture; comfortable beds with lots of luxurious pillows and white bedding with the sash across the bottom. The fridge was large (not a tiny mini-fridge, but a half-sized one). The room was clean and the staff was friendly. And with the ocean view rooms you can wake up to a view of the water. That said, if you're the kind who looks for every detail to be perfect, you should just stay at The Morgan (the expensive, boutique hotel next door). This hotel looks its age on the outside, and you are likely to find little things in the rooms as well. My bathroom had rust stains in the bathtub and a cracked floor tile. Minor things for most people, including me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room not messy but not Clean too

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect, anything else does not worth the lack of cleaness.
Cons: Cleaning service is ZERO. From my experience, I would not consider this Inn anymore. I
Location: As I said, the location is perfect, it is near the beach.
Arrived late at night, tired after long day driving. Received the keys from the clerk. I went to the room, once there, everything seem to be ok, but an strong odor inside the room that come from everywhere. I've looked for the a.c. in order to heat the room (winter season). The room did not have an a.c., ok. I took a look to the floor and I saw hair a lot of them, and they weren't mine, but ok, I will not sleep on the floot. I removed the linens on the bed and what I saw was terrible: A bed full of hair !!! It was enough for me and I requested another room. In the new room, bed and floor are clean, but I did not take a shower, because in my inspection I did find hair in the towels !!! Come on....This location is disgusting, runaway from it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

5 minute walk to beach. Very nice, helpful staff

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel
Cons: No improvement needed
Location: 30 minutes from Morro Bay, 10 minutes to Hearst Castle and about 15-20 minutes to the elephant seal lookout. I suggest eating in Morro Bay.
Anything you need, Armando has you covered. It is a close walk to the beach and tide pools. Gorgeous beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgeport, TX

Room with a view!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
King bed was the best I've ever slept in, and room was big.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Looking for a deal, this place is perfect.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The staff was completely rude however I over looked that because the room was such a good deal and clean. We had a room that over looked the ocean which at night we feel asleep to the waves.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't recommend

Posted Feb 7, 2017
I ordered the hotel ,but highway 1was close and I was not able to get there ,have to detour around 4 hours. I called the stuff,they said everybody could get there ,no refund.crazy story to tell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seal beach

Nice hotel with an ocean view.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Price
Location: Close to Hearst castle, Cambria, and wineries.
Great place to stay and view the elephant nose seals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Clean comfortable

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Is not a luxury hotel, but is clean, and bed was comfortable Front Desk gentleman was nice and helpful. The hotel exeded my expectations .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

Can't Complain

Posted Jan 21, 2017
First of all, I can't complain with an oceanview room for 2 nights under $99. Secondly, just a few lil nitpicky things that could be fixed easily: the left stair railing closest to the street is loose (was also loose 3 yrs ago, the first time I was there); the curtain sheers (at least in my room) have a lil mold happening; and just a lil minor paint touch-up needed. But it was a very comfortable room with pleasant front desk staff. I'll be back.