Ratings based on 767 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mission Viejo, CA

Cutest Hotel across from Beach

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We loved this hotel. Cute! Very spacious room with back patio, fireplace, microwave and breakfast delivered every morning in a basket outside our door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, California

Great location!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Quaint little place to stay right across from the board walk. Beautiful landscapes and nice inviting fireplace to sit around. Would recommend to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Very comfortable hotel right across from beach.

Posted May 27, 2017
Great little motel right across from Moonstone beach. Enjoyed the walkway on the cliffs above the beach. Motel very comfortable with a yummy '"picnic" breakfast delivered to our room. Has had some upgrades since our last visit - updated bathrooms and some outdoor fire places. Gorgeous flowers and plants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Inn close to beach

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Just the pocket doors to the bathroom, those kind of doors always stick and are hard to close.
Location: Right across from the beach, short walk to park on ocean, lots of walking paths, close to two restaurants, close to town. Sea elephant refuge 9 miles.
Whenever we are in Cambria, we always stay at the Sea Otter Inn (it's a tradition). It's close to the beach, which is the most important reason, you just walk across the street. The rooms are comfortable and they now serve a breakfast delivered to your room. There are two restaurants in walking distance and the town is a few minutes drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moonstone Beach

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location and flowery grounds.
The grounds are alive with flowers; very picturesque. Comfortable room across the road from Moonstone Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AK and AZ

A little bit of heaven

Posted May 8, 2017
We loved our stay at The Sea Otter Inn. The location was great with easy access to our room. Loved the flowers, outside fireside lounge and the beautiful flowers. We took our picnic basket breakfast down to Moonstone Beach and watched the waves and birds. Can't wait for our next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Perfect Moonstone Beach experience!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Staff is always friendly & the new fire pits are beautiful!
Location: We come up for our anniversary which coincides with the Kite Festival in Morro Bay the last weekend in April.
Loved the room & amenities. Coffee & cookies in the lobby is always a treat! The new fire pits were a nice way to relax after dinner! Being so close to Moonstone Beach makes me happy & this weekend was perfect all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dana Point, CA

Beautiful hotel near the ocean

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Love this place. Been coming here with my family since I was a little girl. The staff was great, and loved the breakfast basket every day. Can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Nothing special, apart from the location. Was a little disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calimesa, CA

Nice Hotel Next to Beach

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Good location for visiting Cambria and Hearst Castle. The beach was right across the street.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Cambria is only a couple of miles away to the south and Hearst Castle and elephant seal area are only a few miles to the north.
This is one of many lodging facilities along Moonstone Beach Drive. I enjoyed our stay here and wish we had more time. It is located across the street from the beach, they have electric vehicle chargers and they even serve breakfast right to your door.