Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lake Arrowhead, CA

Pleasant hotel across the street from beach

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly staff, the fact that the room was ready on arrival and that there were no surprise charges.
Cons: State up front that there could be no changes to the breakfast items and state what they were so I knew not to chose that option.
Location: Boardwalk from one end of moonstone beach to the other is fantastic. Hearst castle 6 miles or so away. The town of cambria is pleasant and friendly.
Room was ready on arrival. The rooms do not have a central air but a fan was provided upon request. The Pool is clean but small and the two 13 year old boys with me would have liked a bigger one but they had fun anyway. The only complaint I had is that the breakfast that I paid for was without the ability to change so the fact that I had allergies to the ingredients in some of the items and that they were adamant about no changes or exchanges was irritating. (Eggs had bellpeppers and onions that "could not" be removed and the yogurt parfaits had their fruit choices not mine). If you will eat anything then no problem but for us picky ones I suggest you save your money and go out to eat. The view from sitting areas provided was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mission Viejo, CA

Cutest Hotel across from Beach

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We loved this hotel. Cute! Very spacious room with back patio, fireplace, microwave and breakfast delivered every morning in a basket outside our door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, California

Great location!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Quaint little place to stay right across from the board walk. Beautiful landscapes and nice inviting fireplace to sit around. Would recommend to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Very comfortable hotel right across from beach.

Posted May 27, 2017
Great little motel right across from Moonstone beach. Enjoyed the walkway on the cliffs above the beach. Motel very comfortable with a yummy '"picnic" breakfast delivered to our room. Has had some upgrades since our last visit - updated bathrooms and some outdoor fire places. Gorgeous flowers and plants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Inn close to beach

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Just the pocket doors to the bathroom, those kind of doors always stick and are hard to close.
Location: Right across from the beach, short walk to park on ocean, lots of walking paths, close to two restaurants, close to town. Sea elephant refuge 9 miles.
Whenever we are in Cambria, we always stay at the Sea Otter Inn (it's a tradition). It's close to the beach, which is the most important reason, you just walk across the street. The rooms are comfortable and they now serve a breakfast delivered to your room. There are two restaurants in walking distance and the town is a few minutes drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moonstone Beach

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location and flowery grounds.
The grounds are alive with flowers; very picturesque. Comfortable room across the road from Moonstone Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AK and AZ

A little bit of heaven

Posted May 8, 2017
We loved our stay at The Sea Otter Inn. The location was great with easy access to our room. Loved the flowers, outside fireside lounge and the beautiful flowers. We took our picnic basket breakfast down to Moonstone Beach and watched the waves and birds. Can't wait for our next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Perfect Moonstone Beach experience!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Staff is always friendly & the new fire pits are beautiful!
Location: We come up for our anniversary which coincides with the Kite Festival in Morro Bay the last weekend in April.
Loved the room & amenities. Coffee & cookies in the lobby is always a treat! The new fire pits were a nice way to relax after dinner! Being so close to Moonstone Beach makes me happy & this weekend was perfect all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dana Point, CA

Beautiful hotel near the ocean

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Love this place. Been coming here with my family since I was a little girl. The staff was great, and loved the breakfast basket every day. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by deborah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels