Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

We had a wonderful time.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
As a friend of mine said , you could die of quaintness here. Everything was comfortable, clean, beautifully appointed with and English charm. Loved the boardwalk across the street on the ocean. Just a few miles from the charming town of Cambria and of course Hearst Castle and Sebastian's for wine tasting and the best burger! Loved our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It is a beeautiful location.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
The breakfast could have more choices. The service was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Can't wait to go back.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Great location, clean, great staff.
Cons: Not thrilled with the soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower, but they're okay.
Location: Location is the best. We walk for miles on the boardwalk ever morning and evening. So peaceful.
Great location. Clean, neat little hotel. Forgot to fill out the breakfast request card one night. Gentleman at the front desk called to remind us almost an hour after it was due. we have stayed there twice now and will definitely go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Costal gem

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: I liked the closeness to highway 1 and all that area has to offer. Short trip to the beach. But I would recommend dining in town.
Cons: Loved the picnic basket breakfast idea, but did not care for the selections
Location: Hearst Castle, shopping, dining.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire. England.

Motel near the sea convenient for Hearst Castle.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Hearing the sea and the pretty flowers with humming birds.
Cons: Only coffee was provided in the rooms. It would be nice to include some tea bags.
Location: Convenient for visiting Hearst castle. Very close to the sea and a walk or short drive to local shops and restaurants.
The hotel was situated just a stone's throw from the beach so you could hear the waves! We ate at the Sea Chest for our evening meal which can't be booked but worth the wait and is in walking distance from Sea Otter Inn. The inn had pretty gardens full of humming birds and a swimming pool although we didn't use the pool due to the foggy weather. Breakfast was delivered to your room in a picnic basket which was continental style but more than adequate. We only stayed one night as we were visiting Hearst Castle then driving onto Santa Barbara the next morning. All in all it was a very pleasant stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Calif

Hotel was better than expected and by the beach

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Hotel was exactly where we wanted to stay. The rooms were very comfortable and refurbished. It was also very close to town and restuarants
Cons: The landscaping was being refurbished and will be beautiful upon completion.
Location: The location was was close to town and the beach. There were many interesting things to do in Cambria and many nice restaurants to frequent.
It was easy to check in, the room was ready, there was a very nice continental breakfast delivered to our room the next morning. It was close to town and overlooked the ocean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hacieda heights, ca

by the beach pathway

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: the cleanliness, the friendly staff, the proximaty to the beach
Cons: only that the work on the grounds be completed...the front area with the flowers was beautiful
Location: we shopped in cambria, ate at lin's and went to a nearby huge nursery (that we had been given a discount ticket to by our hotel) and bought plants...
i loved the fact that we were right across the street to walk along the beach pathway. the staff member that was there to greet us was very friendly and helpful. nice clean rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Inn across from water.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Otter Inn. I love staying where you can park in front of your room. Location was fantastic for walking and some dining. Great idea of checking off what you want for breakfast the night before, and have it delivered in a picnic basket the next morning. Coffee maker in room or just go to office where they have fresh coffee made. If you didn't get enough to eat in your basket a tray of pastries are found in the Inn's lobby. Also, cookies are available in the afternoon. I enjoyed grabbing one as I checked in. Clean and comfortable rooms. Nice size bathroom with a large vanity to place toiletries. Just a few minutes to town by car. The beach boardwalk is amazing! Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Dimas, CA

Getaway Trip

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Very clean and comfortable
Cons: A little more variety in the breakfast
Location: In a beautiful location close to town.
This hotel is awsome, especially for the price. It is right across the street from the ocean, with wooden walkways that you can walk on for miles. They bring you your continental breakfast in a basket that they leave at your door. It was very good. I would definately recommend this hotel. Very peaceful and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by Hasse from Sollentuna


Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Trevligt rum, bra utrustat. Trevlig personlig personal som ger bra tips. Hög mysfaktor!