Ratings based on 1,510 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything is nice

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The bed is what u would find in a 5 star hotel. Clean quiet very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

TV is not convenient to operate

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: just so so
Cons: The staff has huge space to improve
The reception is not very amicable, his English is hard to understand, there is no smile on his face.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well-priced...but you get what you pay for.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The price was very affordable and the location was central to beautiful sights and local attractions.
The room was fair for the price (not great, but fair). Pros: Location was central to Heart Castle and excellent vista points for viewing Elephant Seals. Cons: Cleanliness of room was lacking. The mattresses were very stained and once the bubbles turned off on the Jacuzzi, we were slightly horrified that we had been sitting in that much scum. Also, there was no air conditioning. If you are just passing through and not worried about frills, this is probably the best-priced hotel for the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

close to about everything

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: close to stuff
Cons: heating
Location: Hearst, sea elephants beaches
heater made room to hot when off. opened back window
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No

Posted Jan 6, 2017
This place is a bit sketchy. Next time I'll try another on the same strip of San Simion. Rooms were way outdated. Cambria is a beautiful place to visit however this hotel detracted from the entire experience and I would not recommend it. The review field on Expedia mandates an extensive commentary but there is truly not much more to say about this establishment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Horrible experience, avoid this hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Like every other traveler to visit the Hearst Castle. There are few sea elephant viewing points nearby which are very worth to see.
My only purpose of staying here is for the Hearst Castle. I cannot find any positive or pros about this hotel at all, maybe the only exception is the staff at front desk who's efficient and friendly. But.... the hotel stay is really really really horrible and nightmare !!! The room is way tooooooold and needs to be remodeled or cleaned ASAP. It is dirty, smelly, and small. The coffee maker is extremely dirty, full of smudges like haven't been used for 10 years. You share the annoying noise with your neighbors all night long. In my case, I was woke up in 1am by the shouting from neighbor, and the other family staying upstairs were like having a party .... nightmare ! If you could, spend a few more miles in the next closest city to find much better one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, cheap motel near the beach

Posted Dec 28, 2016
This hotel was a good value for the price. It was clean and very simple but for less than $50 it's hard to complain. It's just off the Pacific Highway 1 so a nice stopover on your way down. Just about 10 minute drive from restaurants in Cambria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The hotel was nice it was right next to the beach. It was very convenient for beach access. The room was very nice. The outdated facilities gives you a false image of how the rooms are. The down fall to this hotel is the fact that we were unable to change the tempurture to the room and the walls were extremely thin. We could here everything that was going on outside. Our room was also by the stairs so we could hear people coming and going.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

All Motels Should Be Like This One!!

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Everything especially the price!
Cons: As above
Location: We drove to Cambria which is 10 min down the road for all our meals because the restaurant motels were terribly expensive.
This motel room was super clean and orderly. It had been newly renovated but apart from that, the cleaning staff did a great job every morning. The grounds were nicely kept as well. It is situated far enough back from the road in line with other motels but there was no noise. They do not provide a complimentary breakfast but there are restaurants in the same area. As far as improvements go, they could add tea in the beverage basket and a hair dryer in the bathroom. We were there in the cooler weather and the heating system worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Nice hotel close to beach. right off CA 1 . excellent place to stop over