Ratings based on 1,899 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Excellent hotel, great price close to the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2018
This would be a 5 star stay except for the bed. The worst mattress l ever slept on, the mattress l slept on in the marine corps was better. Wife and l both woke up stiff. Sleeping in the chair was more comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca.

remolded, nice hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: location,price indoor pool and hot tub
Location: elephant seals, hearst castle, cambria,
close to anything you want to see, nicely remolded great price, nice beaches
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay for the night

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The hotel is a bit old but the staff is very friendly. There WiFi was really reliable because I had some work I had to finish up. The room is modern but exterior needs an upgrade. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, updated bathroom

Posted Dec 30, 2017
It is nice. The bathroom is updated. I would come back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent location; terrible service

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the beach and the price.
Cons: The service at the front desk.
Location: Cambria is really nice, and the elephant seal rookery is fantastic. Also, you're close to Hearst Castle.
We were close (across the freeeway) to the beach and there's a pleasant courtyard and indoor pool, but the guy at the front desk was ridiculous. He was unfriendly and unhelpful from the moment we checked in, and got downright rude when, heaven forbid, we asked for a different room because the one we were given smelled like cigarettes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reedley, CA

Silver Surf Motel

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: The room was very clean, it was nicely decorated. It had both a refrigerator and microwave but we didn't use these.
Cons: We couldn't take a shower - even running the tap for hot water it remained COLD. The wall furnace needed to be adjusted so it didn't rattle for 30 mi
Location: Cross the highway and access to the beach was right there. State parks, Hearst castle, elephant seal experience plus of course lots of restaurants an
We got to the motel way early but was told to come back at 1 pm, which is 2 hours earlier than check in time, which we appreciated. We had requested a ground-floor room and this is what we got. The room was attractively decorated. It was an older building but maintained though the rug looked dingy. However, Even running the hot water tap in the shower for over 5 minutes the water remained cold. Also the wall furnace bumped and groaned for 30 minutes. The grounds of the motel were nice with a lot of grass, but there was old dog pooh and other trash (plastic forks around the picnic tables, etc. We made the reservation for the room 2 months in advance based on the cost during the Christmas holidays. Expedia used our credit to lower the cost, which we appreciated. The next time we go to the Pacific coast we'd look a bit more at what is available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasing

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Was driving PCH and decided to stop for the night. Really decent place to stay for this purpose. Close to the beach and a good price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast Australia

1 night stay mid trip to San Fran

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Everything was great. Excellent value for money and clean, big rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Simeon

Really good for the price.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Upstairs has balconies overlooking a large, dog friendly court yard. Staff has been nice. Fridge and microwave clean and working. Just fine for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget motel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Quiet. Refrigerator and microwave oven provided. Front desk staff was ready to accommodate requests like hair-dryer and extra towels.
Cons: Firmer pillows. Some of the towels are old, not as fluffy as some others.
Location: Not much to do nearby except visit the beach. Easy drive to other attractions and cities.
There is a ceiling fan in the room but no air-conditioning, so it's not comfortable on warmer nights unless you leave the windows open.