Ratings based on 1,402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The price was good

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: I liked it's a comfortable place. The restaurant is good with fare prices. The manager was very nice. We liked the indoor pool and jacuzzi. The garden in the middle gives you a very nice view from the rooms. I like that you have microwave and a refrigerator in the bedroom. This is a nice place to stay for a few days!!! But remember bring your wetsuit to enjoy the pool at night after a long visit day!
Cons: The room smelled like old, not very clean and the bathtub is very old, it seems to be dirty.
Location: The location is great, it's near to the Castle, the lighthouse and the elephant seals view.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Room was a little small, but was very clean. Was happy with it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Super beliggende hotel, lige til vandet

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Personalet og værelserne
Cons: Intet
Location: Lige til Stillehavet og Hearst Castle tæt på
Meget hjælpsomt personale, hyggeligt hotel til pengene. Hearst Castle lidt derfra.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Good location.
It's under renovation so our first night room had unpleasant smell, old vanity and rusty tub sliding door. We transferred to another room, room was perfect for the amount we paid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good value, nice motel, everything worked well!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Clean, good price, quiet, nice pool & spa, easy beach access, adjacent restaurants.
Cons: Better television operating instructions would be helpful.
Location: Beach access, sightseeing, Hearst Castle, Big Sur up the coast 25 miles.
We stayed one night, but were impressed with the recent room and bathroom upgrades, clean condition, and quiet environment. Every light worked in the room, the shower was very nice and spotless clean, and the community hot tub and enclosed pool were very pleasant (and the hot tub actually was quite warm!). We had trouble using the cable tv as it seemed every movie required some sort of pass or fee (we never checked with the motel desk to see if we were operating it correctly). Although the motel is across Hwy 1 from the beach, there is a walkway under the highway to safely traverse the short distance of about 1/4 mile to easy beach access. Finally, the motel is conveniently next door to two pleasant restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle UK

Clean, efficient and convenient

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: The Elephant seal viewing point a little further north is a must for anyone remotely interested in wildlife. El Chorlito Mexican restaurant was good.
We only stayed overnight and didn't get a chance to use all the facilities at the hotel. Check in was quick. The room was clean, and overlooked the pleasant central lawn. The bed was really comfortable, there was a tv and coffee/ tea making facilities, and toiletries supplied in the bathroom. Overall we were very happy with the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Just ok but price reflects quality

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Price, proximity to Hearst castle. Discount vouchers to Big Sur Restaurant next door
Cons: Attitude of reception staff. Don't have to be effusive just friendly. Rear car park. Make the place look less rundown...it needs some love.
Location: Try Sebastian's cafe after the castle. Great Food. Only stay in San Simeon for visiting the castle. Cayucos & Morro Bay have more to offer
Needed an overnighter close to Hearst castle so booked Silver Surf. On arrival man on reception was surly, like we were expecting too much by wanting to check in...he told us to move car to car park at back of hotel near the room. The back car park had only 4 spots and 2 were taken...the steep incline on the access scraped the underside of our rental car so we had to use one at the end & reverse in past another parked car then repeat the manoeuvre in the morning. In the hotel guide it said they would book Hearst castle. When we asked the reply was "oh we meant to take that out we don't do that - the internet isn't that great" (side note we had no problems with the wireless) so we asked if we could book it ourselves & get them to print tickets "no". Ok then. The shower dripped all night, we ended up tying a towel around it & the room smelt a bit strange. The place was ok, just.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlestown, RI

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Went to the beach.
For the money this was the cleaned hotel I have been in. Nice location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, OR

Great location room very nice.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Not really.
Location: Great location near Hearst Castle and ocean.
Check in great, room very nice, great price! Close to ocean beaches and local sights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Needs remodel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Location only. Would recommend to a friend and warn them of expectations
Cons: Looks, smell, age
Location: Hearst Castle, eat. Pack sandals to walk around room, bathroom is rusted and lined with plastic, linoleum tile, no trash can provided.
Comfortable beds. Dingy smell, dated furniture, unpleasant bathroom, thinning towels. Garden not welcoming, trash thrown in lawn and very thin walls.