Ratings based on 2,278 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grorgia

Nice hotel comfortable room. Breakfast was nice.

Posted May 24, 2017
There is no elevator so anything above ground level you have to haul your bags up a flight of steps.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Utah

Good breakfast, convenient

Posted May 23, 2017
Location: Besides Hearst Castle a real must see is the elephant seal beach. Astonishing!!
We left an item in the room and they responded quickly to find it and make it available for return. Very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Would gladly recommend a friend to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us, and for the great review. It's nice to hear that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed our services and amenities. If you return to the area in the future, please consider staying with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Clean, Affordable Hotel near Hearst Castle

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The style of the rooms, the fireplace, and that it's close to Hearst Castle, which was the main reason for our visit.
Cons: The staff's knowledge about the carbon monoxide detectors, the painfully slow WI-FI, management's response to billing errors.
Location: Close to Hearst Castle, the Elephant Seals Viewing Area
We stayed at The Morgan for three nights. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly, and the continental breakfast was as expected. We had a king room with a fireplace, which was a nice touch. The downside to this hotel is that it's old and since it was chilly during our stay, we opted to turn on the small wall heater in our room. After 20 minutes, the Carbon Monoxide detector began to blare very loudly. The staff's solution to this was to come to our room and rip the detector off the wall, while offering no advice about the threat of our heater or how to clear the room of the carbon monoxide. Needless to say, we shut the heater off and didn't use it again. Since our credit card had been stolen the day before we left on vacation, we were forced to use a debit card for "incidentals" even though our room was pre-paid. After checking out, we were charged TWO MORE TIMES for the same room through our debit card. It took two phone calls and about four days before they credited our account for the error. We were thankful they did rectify the situation, but it tied up almost $600 of our money (in addition to the pre-payment) before they cleared it up.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, Ca

Very nice hotel it was quite and good service

Posted May 21, 2017
Priced well, a very nice room and a beautiful location. I definitely would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palos Verdes Estates, CA

Beautifully Clean

Posted May 20, 2017
I did not stay in the hotel room much as I was at the Central Coast to ride my bike. But, each day when I returned to the hotel, it was sparkling clean and fresh. Felt very secure with the locked external doors. The breakfast was good for pre-ride fueling - boiled eggs, oatmeal, peanut butter, yogurt, OJ. Great location at a great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel to stay overnight

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: There was a free breakfast buffet and the staff we're very friendly
Cons: The bedrooms seem a bit tired
Location: Well located for travellers.
The Morgan is a nice hotel in a convenient location to stay overnight while driving the California coast. It is well located and the public areas are nicely appointed although our room was rather dated. I think that you can book an ocean view room, but we didn't and ended up with a great view of the roof of the portico. Still it was okay for an overnight break.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite interesting...

Posted May 16, 2017
Humm. All I can say is the check in desk was a folding table with a cleaning towel on top. The room was clean and OK for an over night stay. Very basic. Would I return.... I don't think so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice clean hotel would definitely stay here again

Posted May 9, 2017
nice clean hotel would definitely stay here again. Continental breakfast mediocre. beds great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Angie B, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while you were here. Your feedback is very important and will be shared to ensure better future stays. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Hollywood

Posted May 7, 2017
Great little hotel, quiet and clean rooms situated along the coast. Thanks for the great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable. Need new door locks.

Posted May 1, 2017
Cons: Change door lock and key.
Pros: - Very nice and clean room. - Convenient location for Hearst Castle tour Cons: - door locks are old and tricky that it became a challenge to open. My female friends who stayed next room had to ask me coming over twice to help open the door for them.